no cover -  
The Last Shadow Puppets Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

The Last Shadow Puppets is an English supergroup that consists of Alex Turner of Sheffield band Arctic Monkeys and Miles Kane of The Rascals. They released their debut album, The Age Of The Understatement, on the 21st April 2008 in the U.K., and 6th May in the U.S.

The album also features James Ford (producer and half of the duo Simian Mobile Disco) and string arrangements from Owen Pallett. The album went straight to number one in the U.K. Albums Chart. Their first single "The Age Of The Understatement" was released on the 14th of April, with a new song titled "Two Hearts in Two Weeks" and covers of Billy Fury's "Wondrous Place" and David Bowie's "In the Heat of the Morning" (a song previously mentioned by Turner as a favourite) as b-sides. The duo have said they took inspiration from Scott Walker and early Bowie.

The second single, "Standing Next To Me", was released on 7th July 2008. The third single from the album was "My Mistakes Were Made For You". The album was nominated for the 2008 Mercury Music Prize.

  • Advertisement