no cover -  
The Electric Peanut Butter Company Cover Image
The Electric Peanut Butter Company Profile Picture

The Electric Peanut Butter Company

  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

As mutual fans of each others work, both Shawn Lee and Adrian Quesada always looked for a way to work with each other and after meeting in Adrian’s hometown of Austin in 2010 for SXSW it was decided it was time to get to work once their respective schedules freed up. Inspired by ‘60s freaky psychedelic folk, rock, soul and all funky tidbits in-between and bands such as Los Angeles Negros, Federal Duck, US69 and El Chicano the duo set forth on their task to create “Trans-Atlantic Psych Classics Vol. 2.” The album’s name references the recording process behind it’s creation. Both heavily steeped in studio experience and amazing multi-instrumentalists in their own regard, partial songs and sometimes single tracks were recorded and sent back and forth across the pond. Shawn’s signature monster drums along with Adrian’s slinky basslines are the main ingredients in all the songs, creating a layer of rhythm that’s crunchy and buttery smooth throughout. They then took turns with guitars, percussion, keys and various other instruments in Shawn’s studio pantry to complete the songs. The spontaneity, freedom and fun both had in making the record is evident by the relatively short two month period it took to finish.
From Spotify:
Prolific multi-instrumentalists/producers Adrian Quesada (Brownout, Ocote Soul Sounds, Grupo Fantasma) and Shawn Lee (Ping Pong Orchestra, the Superimposers) formed the Electric Peanut Butter Company after meeting at the South by Southwest music festival in Austin in 2010. U.K. resident Lee and Austinite Quesada collaborated via e-mail, melding retro-funk and psychedelic rock influences with a Latin flavor, particularly influenced by bands such as Los Ángeles Negros and El Chicano. The duo's debut full-length, confusingly titled Trans-Atlantic Psych Classics, Vol. 2, arrived in 2013 on Lee's longtime home, Ubiquity, featuring offbeat reworkings of the Beatles' "Dear Prudence" and Fleetwood Mac's "Dreams." Vol. 1 followed in 2015. ~ Paul Simpson, Rovi

  • Advertisement