no cover -  
The Dangerous Summer Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

The Dangerous Summer is an alternative rock band originally from Ellicott City, Maryland. The band consists of AJ Perdomo (lead vocals, bass guitar), Matthew Kennedy (lead guitar and backing vocals) and Ben Cato (drums).

The band formed in 2006 with Perdomo and Cody Payne (rhythm guitar and backing vocals) joined by Bryan Czap (lead guitar) and Tyler Minsberg (drums).

TDS independently released a five song EP There Is No Such Thing as Science in 2007, which drew the attention of Hopeless Records. They released their debut EP with Hopeless Records, entitled If You Could Only Keep Me Alive, with a similar track listing. The band's debut studio album, Reach for the Sun was released on May 5, 2009. The album reached #42 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart.

On May 14, 2010, the band announced they would be playing Reach for the Sun from front to back on their first headlining tour. Tyler left the band in late 2010.

An Acoustic Performance Of Reach For The Sun was digitally released on March 15, 2011. In the summer of 2011, TDS played a Warped Tour schedule and released their second full-length album, titled War Paint which was on released on July 19, 2011. Tyler returned to the band in 2011 for a short stint before leaving again that same year. Bryan Czap left the band in 2012.

The band released their 3rd studio album, Golden Record, on August 6, 2013 with Ben Cato on drums and Matt Kennedy on lead guitar and backing vocals. Cody Payne remained on rhythm guitar and backing vocals.

In September 2013, AJ Perdomo left the band, citing Cody Payne as the driving force behind the decision.

In February 2017 Cody Payne was sentenced to a year in prison after being charged with a Felony burglary conviction.

In July 2017, the band announced that they were reuniting as a trio without Cody Payne. On October 19, 2017 The Dangerous Summer announced their next album coming out in 2018. The Dangerous Summer was released on January 26, 2018. The first single was Fire, followed by Ghosts and Valium. All 3 singles were released prior to the album release date.

The band had stated influences from Kings of Leon, Taylor Swift, Third Eye Blind, Bright Eyes, U2, Phil Collins, Explosions in the Sky, Jimmy Eat World, and Andrew McMahon. "The Dangerous Summer" is taken from the novel of same name written by Ernest Hemingway.

  • Advertisement