no cover -  
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

The Black Angels are a band from Austin, Texas, formed in May 2004. Their name derives from the Velvet Underground song "The Black Angel's Death Song". The band consists of Alex Maas (vocals, guitar), Christian Bland (guitar), Kyle Hunt (keyboards), Nate Ryan (bass) and Stephanie Bailey (drums).

Hannah Levin's review of the Black Angels album, Passover, described them as "Walking in the shadows cast by Spacemen 3 and Spiritualized mastermind Jason Pierce" and compared them to The Warlocks and Black Mountain, also invoking "dirges" reminiscent of both The Velvet Underground and the 13th Floor Elevators. The band's icon is a stylized image of Nico.

In December 2007, the group announced on their blog that their second album would be released in Spring of 2008. In March 2008 a release date of May 13th was announced for their second album, Directions to See a Ghost. Their third album was "Phosphene Dream" released in 2010. This record is slowly starting to give Black Angels international recognition.

  • Info
  • 2004 – present (19 years)
  • Austin, Travis County, Texas, United States
  • Alex Maas Christian Bland Jennifer Raines (2004 – 2008)
    Kyle Hunt Nate Ryan … Stephanie Bailey

  • 0 people like this
  • @The-Black-Angels/events
  • Advertisement