no cover -  
Ruby Throat Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

Ruby Throat are a duo consisting of KatieJane Garside (of Queen Adreena, and formerly Daisy Chainsaw), and Chris Whittingham. They formed in 2006 when Garside discovered Whittingham busking on the London underground. Their music recalls the etherealness and fragility of english folk music and the deepest black heart of gothic americana.

Ruby Throat's debut album The Ventriloquist was released on 8th November 2007 in a limited run of only 500 copies. These consisted of books bound from vintage Indian red leather, with the CD in a cloth pocket in the back of the book. Another limited edition version of 400 copies was released on 16th January 2008, this time in a regular jewel case and a 4-panel CD booklet, featuring pinhole photography by Chris Whittingham.

The commercial release of The Ventriloquist came out on 1st September 2008 with new songs "Consuela's Newt" and "Boat Song" added to the tracklisting. "House of Thieves" was released as a digital single on 1st October 2008, backed with new b-side "He Doesn't Love You".

A second album Out of A Black Cloud Came A Bird was released in November 2009 and was again limited to 500 numbered copies, including 10 fine art prints, 5 photographs and a personal effect.

The standard gatefold version is now also available on the official Katie Jane Garside website.

Official website:

  • Advertisement