no cover -  
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

PVRIS (pronounced Paris) is an American rock band formed in Lowell, MA in 2012. The group's earliest incarnation was as a local metalcore outfit before vocalist Lynn Gunn (born Lyndsey Gunnulfsen), former I Am the Fallen guitarist Alex Babinski, bassist Brian Macdonald, and drummer Brad Griffin branched off to form PVRIS At this initial stage of their careers, the band's sound echoed contemporaries such as Tonight Alive, Against the Current, and Paramore. They delivered their self-titled debut EP in early 2013, building up their profile as a live act with some summer dates on the Vans Warped Tour, and in the fall joining the Rise Up Tour with A Skylit Drive, Wolves at the Gate, and For All Those Sleeping. Teaming up with producer Blake Harnage (VERSA), they entered the studio to work on their first album.

In June 2014, PVRIS announced that they had signed with Rise Records, becoming the first female-fronted act on the famed metalcore label's roster. Their debut LP, White Noise, arrived in November of that year. Peaking within the Top 10 on the U.S. Alternative chart, the album was also a hit in the U.K. After a year of consistent touring, PVRIS announced their first headlining trek, which coincided with the re-release of White Noise, featuring the previously unreleased single "You and I". In 2017, the band joined Muse and Thirty Seconds to Mars on the road, just before the release of their sophomore set, All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell. The album featured the singles "Heaven" and "What's Wrong". A remix by Marian Hill of the album track "Same Soul" appeared in 2018 featuring singer Jaymes Young.

Blending atmospheric electronic textures with dark alt rock, evolving from post-hardcore underground favorites to pop-savvy international headliners within a decade, the band returned in 2019 and they had signed with Warner Records. They were ready to debut a refreshed sound with the single "Death of Me", a pulsing synth-washed dance tune. Another electronic-influenced single, "Hallucinations", followed a month later. That October, PVRIS included both songs on the five-track Hallucinations, a stopgap EP released to sate fans before the next album cycle. When they were ready to promote that third album, Use Me, on a 2020 tour with Halsey, the band were forced to put their plans on hold during the worldwide quarantine brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic. While awaiting the album's release, the band shared new singles "Dead Weight" and "Gimme a Minute".

  • Advertisement