no cover -  
Operation Ivy Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

Operation Ivy was an American band from Berkeley, California formed in May 1987. The band was stylistically important as one of the first bands to mix the elements of hardcore punk and ska into an amalgamation called "" and was critical to the emergence of Lookout Records and the so-called "East Bay Sound." The band name was derived from the Operation Ivy series of nuclear tests. Although the band released just one full-length album, Energy, before breaking up in May 1989, Operation Ivy is known as the antecedent of the band Rancid and for its stylistic influence over numerous later bands.

Jesse Michaels – vocals
Tim Armstrong – guitar
Matt Freeman – bass
Dave Mello – drums

  • Info
  • 1987 – 1989 (2 years)
  • Berkeley, Alameda County, California, United States
  • Dave Mello Jesse Michaels Matt Freeman (1987 – 1989)
    Tim Armstrong (1987 – 1989)

  • 0 people like this
  • @Operation-Ivy/events

  • Social Links
  • Advertisement