no cover -  
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

New Candys, Origin; Venice, Italy
The band was formed in 2008 by Fernando Nuti (lead vocals, guitar), Diego Menegaldo (lead guitar, backing vocals), Stefano Bidoggia (bass guitar) and Dario Lucchesi (drums, percussion).
Genres Alternative rock
Years active 2008 – present
Labels Fuzz Club, Little Cloud Records, Picture In My Ear, Foolica
Members Fernando Nuti
(lead vocals, guitar)
Andrea Volpato
(lead guitar, backing vocals)
Alessandro Boschiero
(bass guitar)
Dario Lucchesi
(drums, percussion)

New Candys is an Italian alternative rock band formed in Venice in 2008. The group consists of Fernando Nuti (lead vocals, guitar), Andrea Volpato (lead guitar, backing vocals), Alessandro Boschiero (bass guitar) and Dario Lucchesi (drums, percussion). Their official biography ( ) does not indicate the origin of the band name, but given the stylistic influence of The Jesus and Mary Chain, some have speculated that it derived from the classic album title Psychocandy.


1 History
1.1 Formation and Stars Reach The Abyss
1.2 New Candys As Medicine
1.3 Bleeding Magenta and line-up changes
2 Members
3 Discography
4 References
5 External links

Formation and Stars Reach The Abyss

The band was formed in 2008 by Fernando Nuti (lead vocals, guitar), Diego Menegaldo (lead guitar, backing vocals), Stefano Bidoggia (bass guitar) and Dario Lucchesi (drums, percussion).

In the following two years, the band played live around the Venice area until the release of their first self-produced EP on July 7, 2010. Welcomed by the Italian press, they began to play shows throughout Northern Italy. On March 23, 2012, their first studio album Stars Reach The Abyss was released through Foolica (repressed by Fuzz Club in 2017). The album was produced by Pierluigi Ballarin and Stefano Moretti and mastered by Jon Astley. The release brought the band on tour in England and Italy supporting artists such as Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, Dead Skeletons and Crystal Stilts. The song "Meltdown Corp." was included in the double LP The Reverb Conspiracy Vol. 3, an annual compilation that brings together the best young European bands of the underground psych scene, co-released by Fuzz Club and The Reverberation Appreciation Society (Levitation Austin).
New Candys As Medicine

Their second studio album, New Candys As Medicine, was released on March 16, 2015 in the United States through the record label Picture In My Ear and through Fuzz Club in Europe. The release was preceded by a 10” split single with the band Kill Your Boyfriend featuring the single "Dark Love" and exclusive track "Surf 2". The album, mixed by John Wills (producer and drummer of Loop), was distributed by The Committee To Keep Music Evil, a label founded and ran by The Brian Jonestown Massacre. New Candys As Medicine received praise from Simone Marie Butler of Primal Scream, Stephen Lawrie of The Telescopes and Orange Amplification.

In the next two years the band toured Europe three times playing in Switzerland, Germany, Czech Republic, Austria, Belgium, England, Scotland, France, Netherlands, Sweden, Denmark, Slovenia, Spain and Croatia. They performed at the Secret Garden Party 2015, Liverpool International Festival Of Psychedelia 2016, Barcelona Psych Fest 2017, and supported bands including Slowdive, The Vaccines and Savages.
Bleeding Magenta and line-up changes

New Candys’ third album Bleeding Magenta was released on October 8, 2017 by Fuzz Club and repressed by Little Cloud Records in the United States. Recorded by Andrea Volpato and produced by the band, it received critical acclaim from the press including the music webzine Drowned in Sound. Two songs from the album, and one from a previous record, were featured on three episodes of Showtime Networks original TV series Shameless.

Andrea Volpato has joined the band since the European promotional tour of the album, which included the performance at SpaceFest 2017 in Poland. In 2018 they toured Australia playing 14 shows, headlining both Sydney and Melbourne Psych Fest and performing at the Adelaide Fringe Festival. Next the band went on a US-Mexico tour of 18 shows plus a KEXP live session in Seattle. The American tour started with two shows in New York and proceeded along the west coast, including performances at Pappy & Harriet's in Pioneertown and the Highland Park Bowl in Los Angeles.

Stefano Bidoggia left the band before the Australian tour and Diego Menegaldo after the North American tour. In June 2018 Alessandro Boschiero joined the band on bass. Later in the summer they performed at Fuzz Club Eindhoven, headlined by The Black Angels, and supported The Brian Jonestown Massacre for both of their Italian shows. In 2019 they completed a back to back tour of 50 shows in Europe, the US and Canada including Desert Stars Festival in Joshua Tree, Milwaukee Psych Fest, The Echo in Los Angeles, Hotel Vegas in Austin and Mercury Lounge in New York. A third European tour took place in September, including Levitation France and shows with The Warlocks and The Dandy Warhols. In January 2020 they played the Balkans for the first time, with shows in Greece, Bulgaria, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia and Croatia.

Fernando Nuti - lead vocals, guitar (2008–present)
Andrea Volpato - lead guitar, backing vocals (2017–present)
Alessandro Boschiero - bass (2018–present)
Dario Lucchesi - drums, percussion (2008–present)

Former members

Diego Menegaldo - lead guitar, backing vocals (2008–2018)
Stefano Bidoggia - bass (2008–2018)

Touring members

Blair Wittstadt - bass (Australia Tour 2018)
Marco Fabris - drums, percussion (Australia Tour 2018)

  • Advertisement