no cover -  
James Vincent McMorrow Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

James Vincent McMorrow is an Irish singer-songwriter from Dublin, Ireland. McMorrow began performing under his own name in 2007, releasing an EP entitled The Sparrow and the Wolf in 2008. His debut album, Early in the Morning, was released in February 2010 via Believe Recordings in Ireland. The album's momentum was initially slow, but the use of one of the album's songs on Grey's Anatomy sparked interest in the US and in Europe. The album was released to the rest of the world in March 2011; and charted in the top 30 in Ireland and Norway. Its three singles were "We Don't Eat," "The Sparrow and the Wolf" and "This Old Dark Machine." In January 2012, James Vincent McMorrow received an European Border Breakers Award in recognition of the album's success beyond Ireland.

McMorrow's second album, Post-Tropical, was released in January 2014. It was noted for its distinct shift in style from the nu-folk of his first album, leaning more towards electronica and ambient sounds. Two singles were released from the album - "Cavalier" and "Red Dust." The album reached the top 30 in the UK and the Netherlands; as well as peaking at number 2 on the Irish album charts.

  • Advertisement