no cover -  
Fischer Z Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

Fischer-Z is a New Wave / Rock band from the United Kingdom formed in 1976. Lead by singer-songwriter John Watts they released three quite successful albums between 1979 and 1981. The original line-up consisted of John Watts (vocals, guitar), David Graham (bass), Steve Skolnik (keyboards) and Steve Liddle (drums).

John Watts recorded and performed as 'John Watts' during 1981-83 before forming The Cry in 1984. Watts later continued with a new incarnation of Fischer-Z in 1987, with him being the only original member. Albums were released with a similar line-up until 1995 when John Watts returned to being 'J M Watts', 'Watts' and John Watts. In 2002 the moniker was revived once more for the album "Ether". There was a 2004 reunion of the original band for one short show which featured on the Garden Party DVD which was released along with the Fischer-Z Highlights 1979-2004 25th anniversary compilation album.

After this John continued performing and recording solo with the most recent album being 2005's 'Real Life Is Good Enough', "It Has To Be" (2006) and "Morethanmusic & Films" (2009).

In august 2010 John Watts had a couple of shows in the Netherlands with his current band (Sam Walker on drums and Matthew Gest on keyboard) playing good old Fischer-Z repertoire. He presented this band as "the new Fischer-Z". Though John Watts focuses on his solo efforts more than on Fischer-Z (no new releases under that name) lately he revives the band when concert tent to be focused on that period of his live.

  • Advertisement