no cover -  
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

Cryptodira is a / band from Mount Sinai, NY. The band's original lineup was Scott Acquavella (vocals, guitar), Shane Kennedy (bass, vocals), Mike Monaco (guitar, vocals), and Matthew Taibi (drums). Kennedy left the band in 2017 to pursue his career in computer science. He was replaced by Jeremy Lewis, a longtime friend of the band, in the same year.

The band was unsigned until 2017; they self-released three EPs: The Four Quarters in 2012, Recursions in 2013, and An Unmarked Grave in 2014. In 2017 they signed to Good Fight Music and their debut full-length album The Devil's Despair will be released on November 17, 2017.

Cryptodira has shared the stage with a variety of bands including Deafheaven, Between the Buried and Me, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Stray From the Path, Ever Forthright, Hollow Earth, and Scale the Summit. They also recorded a song with guest vocals by Andrew Herman of Johnny Booth titled "Allies to Ignorance."

In 2015 they released a 7" split with East of the Wall. Cryptodira contributed the new track "Speaking the Ocean" and East of the Wall contributed a cover of Nick Drake's "River Man." This 7" will be released on January 13 via Epistemic Records and available at two record release shows that the bands are playing together in New Jersey and Pennsylvania.

Cryptodira has a Bandcamp page at and Facebook at

  • Info
  • Mount Sinai, Brookhaven, Suffolk County, New York, United States
  • Jeremy Lewis (2017 – present)
    Matthew Taibi Mike Monaco Scott Acquavella Shane Kennedy ( – 2017)

  • 0 people like this
  • @Cryptodira/events
  • Advertisement