no cover -  
Cap'n Jazz Cover Image
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

Cap'n Jazz were an band which formed in 1989 in Chicago, Illinois, United States. The band consisted of Tim Kinsella (vocals), Victor Villareal (guitar, vocals), Davey von Bohlen (guitar, vocals), Samuel Zurick (bass) and Mike Kinsella (drums).

The band recorded several singles for independent labels in the early 90's as well as contributing to several compilations. In 1995, they released their only full-length album, "Burritos, Inspiration Point, Fork Balloon Sports, Cards in the Spokes, Automatic Biographies, Kites, Kung Fu, Trophies, Banana Peels We've Slipped on and Egg Shells We've Tippy Toed Over" (better known as "Shmap'n Shmazz") on the tiny Man with Gun label.

The band broke up in July 1995, shortly after "Shmap'n Shmazz"'s release, on the night of a show at Little Rock's Das Yutes a Go-Go. In 1998, the Jade Tree label assembled a double-disc Cap'n Jazz retrospective titled "Analphabetapolothology" which compiles the band's complete recorded works: Shmap'n Shmazz, early singles, material from split releases, compilation tracks, unreleased demos and outtakes and several tracks from their farewell performance in Chicago.

After the band's split, the band members formed several new bands including The Promise Ring, American Football, Make Believe, Ghosts and Vodka, Owen, Joan of Arc and Owls

Cap'n Jazz reunited for a four-song set on January 22nd, 2010 at Chicago's Empty Bottle, which eventually led to a full tour in the second half of the year.

  • Advertisement