no cover -  
  • Biography
  • Pictures
  • Albums
  • Events

Tim Bergling (born September 8, 1989 in Stockholm, Sweden, died April 20, 2018 in Muscat, Oman), better known by his stage name Avicii (stylized as ΛVICII and ◢ ◤), was a DJ, remixer and record producer. Avicii was ranked 3rd on DJ Magazine‍‍ '​‍s annual Top 100 DJs in 2012 and 2013 and has been nominated twice for a Grammy Award, once for his work on "Sunshine" with David Guetta in 2012 and once for his song "Levels" (which sampled the 1962 Etta James track "Something's Got a Hold on Me") in 2013. Some of his most famous songs are "I Could Be the One" with Nicky Romero, "Wake Me Up", "You Make Me", "X You", "Hey Brother" and "Addicted to You".

In May 2007, Avicii signed on with the Dejfitts Plays label. Then, in 2010, Avicii released the hit song "Seek Bromance", which reached the top 20 in several countries including Belgium, France, the Netherlands, United Kingdom, and Sweden. He also remixed Nadia Ali's classic single "Rapture" for her album Queen of Clubs Trilogy: Onyx Edition. In October 2010, Avicii signed with the European A&R team with EMI Music Publishing.

Avicii released his final album prior his death in 2015 titled "Stories". The LP was his second album to go #1 and spawned the chart-topping "Waiting for Love" as well Top 5 hit singles "For a Better Day" and "Broken Arrows". The single "Pure Grinding" also reached Top 20.

In 2017, Avicii released what was originally meant to be the first EP to a three-part album.

The extended play was named "Avīci (01)" and spawned the #1 Sandro Cavazza-assisted hit "Without You".

Additionally, the Top 3 single "Lonely Together" which featured Rita Ora was also released from the EP.

"Avīci (01)" itself also went #1 and was another smash success for the DJ.

He died on 20 April 2018 in Muscat, Oman, at the age of 28; the manner of his death was identified as suicide, the specific cause and method withheld from the public in accordance with standard media treatment of suicides.

Over a year after his death, on June 6th 2019, a posthumous album titled "TIM" was released. The singles "SOS" (featuring Emanon's Aloe Blacc), "Tough Love (featuring Vargas & Lagola and Agnes) and "Heaven" were released from the LP. The latter song featured vocals from Coldplay's lead singer Chris Martin. "SOS" reached a peak at the top of the charts, whilst the two following singles managed to reach the #2 position. The album itself also peaked at #1, making it his third album (fourth counting his 2017 EP "Avīci (01)") to do so.

  • Advertisement