You need flash!
no cover -  


icelandic electronic ambient post-rock experimental

    múm (pronounced , “moom”) is an experimental electronic group from Iceland whose music is characterized by soft vocals, eccentric beats and colorful effects, and a variety of traditional and unconventional instruments.

    Originally a duo, the band has expanded and contracted in the 12 years of being and has counted 15 - 20 people along the way.

    The band was formed in 1997 by original members Gunnar Örn Tynes and Örvar Þóreyjarson Smárason, their first release was a split 10" with the girl-band Spúnk and saw light in the summer of '98. They were joined a year later by twin sisters Gyða and Kristín Anna Valtýsdóttir and released two albums as quartet. Following a number of collaborative projects, the group’s celebrated debut album Yesterday was dramatic - today is OK (reissued by Morr Music in October 2005) gained a wealth of glowing press and widespread praise. A remix project, Please Smile My Noise Bleed, also released on the Morr Music label in November 2001.

    In 2002, after the release of Finally We Are No One and the extensive first world tour, Gyða left the band to return to her studies in Reykjavík. Shortly after, the third sister Ásthildur Valtýsdóttir joined for singing duties temporarily and Serena Tideman replaced Gyða on cello, for a single European tour. The band's third album, Summer Make Good, a darker and foggier, nautically themed work was released in May 2004, flanked by two singles, Nightly Cares and Dusk Log. By then the ensemble had evolved to include Eiríkur Ólafsson and Hildur Guðnadóttir (who had guest appearances on múm recordings from the beginning) and Ólöf Arnalds. In early 2006, Kristín also left the band after releasing and heavily touring the album Summer Make Good.

    The start of 2006 saw the band's creativity start to blossom once again, starting with two remixes Goldfrapp of the tracks ‘Number 1’ and ‘You Never Know’. They followed this with two legendary DJ sets at the FatCat Festival in Belgium in February and SXSW in Austin Texas 2007. With a combination of decks, effects, laptops, toy microphones, old cassette player recordings and vocals, coupled with their own recorded material, strange electronic covers by friends, gypsy folk music and general craziness on stage. They were also subsequently invited DJ at Summer Sonic Festival in Japan as well as be headline act as DJ's in Radio 1’s Rob Da Bank tent at Bestival on the Isle of Wight. In september 2007 múm released Go Go Smear the Poison Ivy which turned out to be the bands last release for the Fatcat Records.

    múm has always worked on projects which could be classed as unusual for a pop band or a pop collective. Among their extra curricular activity is their own soundtrack for the classic Sergei Eisenstein film, 'Battleship Potemkin', live performances of which have taken place in Hafnafjordur Iceland, Brooklyn Lyceum New York, and at the distinguished Gijon Film Festival Spain. múm have also composed for theater, most notably two radio theater plays, 'Svefnhjólið' (Sleeping Wheel) by Gyrdir Eliasson which won the Nordic Radio-theater prize and in 2008 Augu þín sáu mig (Your eyes saw me) by poet Sjón (which múm also worked with in 1999 on the operetta Kisa (cat). In 2005 they were invited to Amsterdam by the Holland Festival to collaborate with the National Dutch Chamber Orchestra to create a performance piece based around various compositions of the late avant-garde composer Iannis Xenakis for one of the centre piece shows at the festival.

    múm released their fifth studio album, Sing Along to Songs You Don't Know, in August 2009. The collective now consists of founding members Gunnar Örn Tynes and Örvar Þóreyjarson Smárason and for touring and recording, this line-up is expanded to include their friends Eiríkur Orri Ólafsson (trumpet / piano/ keyboards), Hildur Guðnadóttir (cello / vocals), Sigurlaug Gísladóttir (Vocals / ukulele/ various), Róbert Reynisson (guitars/ukulele's) and the Finnish Samuli Kosminen (drums / percussion). The musical group sometimes extends to Ólöf Arnalds, Högni Egilsson, Ólafur Björn Ólafsson and Guðbjörg Hlín Guðmundsdóttir as well as a never ending family of friends and musicians who may join at the drop of a hat.

    Official website:

    múm 6ff90601f94b4eb39abbb65972494763 múm 355c904133714ffba46b7993009097e4 múm 995d658954384f0fa76e0096eb03efaf múm 526dc8ab6fb14218996ffe0684bc2598 múm 4a0e74aa920c4ad3a44df35bc18323a6 múm 3e1cab7478e845c6af8d5a89dd97e304 múm 1a8efb8c3a6f410d99eed5d5b851870b múm 33050c7db9014655b117616a06740b35 múm 735f97889cf846aa9a1d56aba6c8032e múm 86e3cea814744104b6a75774ac76e1bf múm cea7a4b52c8c459dbd84a2e507b357cd múm e42d57832bf646a49d9541ba21eba4d7 múm 1403de78904044b0a712bb32f4abf918 múm 4535ad2bac404c7e97dcce35ad18ca2c múm 64bd74a924c2473bbde71a4a756bf98c múm 1e612395d2144f729d5f9f82eca33e41 múm a03f7fd88dc84017845a1ba8d3ea48c7 múm 80bbfb93f7d849b8b25f239e4febd7cd múm eef17b444aed4316ac22d78dce3cf5ce múm dac779ea2fce4bef87cdfc781afe6951 múm 5070db52b8fd482bbda7aa74de6a0893 múm 21febf9358b04ed08072601f8731d3d3 múm 70063fe251ce4ef8b51c7d5971e7132a múm 4019ff8f320b438a90b44bef15bd3e30 múm 842f02e560994afaa329b87309d07455 múm 95e47ddf0e5543459b99c27d5272fac0 múm 710a44ba5685462b984e2687f79adf03 múm 25857087bdcc48c69ca7cbb2781fc11f múm e417b74224da48dca33eaf50aa2da92e múm e690465a30c84e41b8418c369fee780e múm 81c483a6da9e44b2b11ce392094969e0 múm 622e5cfc21f54a13a00f395f6394b281 múm 509bc988edb14041aee88595f8b83226 múm b83c86ed806a422e978531c778bf4760 múm 5cc4502a8fb44f508275907faa1fdf9a múm 382af688938748eebcc1399f79d42383 múm 4ffd7f19a9094dbe8218a9f19ab158e5 múm 8a6f95fba53f4a59a66e3bdf233e5e20 múm 786d04c693894d8ea86c3e935d490ef5 múm 8469e503dbbc4602904be621eea010ce