You need flash!
no cover -  


rock classic rock 80s Progressive rock pop

    Toto is a Grammy Award winning band that was formed in Los Angeles, California in 1977 by David Paich, Steve Lukather, Bobby Kimball, brothers Jeff Porcaro and Steve Porcaro, and David Hungate. The band members had met in high school and at studio sessions in the 19, when they became some of the busiest session musicians in the music business.

    Composed entirely of seasoned studio musicians, Toto seemed to come out of nowhere. They did not get known first on the club circuit as nearly all bands do prior to being signed by a label. Their reputations in the studio were enough. For example, Paich, Hungate and Jeff Porcaro wrote songs for and performed on Boz Scaggs' album Silk Degrees.

    Toto released their debut album Toto in October 1978, selling two million copies based on their top ten hit Hold the Line. The next two albums Hydra and Turn Back had little success, but Toto IV (released in 1982) featured the number one hit Africa as well as the top ten single Rosanna. Toto IV went multi-platinum and earned several Grammy Awards including 1983 Album of the Year and Record of the Year (for "Rosanna").

    Their only film work to date was for the 1984 David Lynch science fiction film Dune. In addition to their own score, they also recorded the Prophecy Theme, composed by Brian Eno.

    After the release of Toto IV, Mike Porcaro (brother to Jeff and Steve), joined the group on bass, replacing Hungate. In 1984, Bobby Kimball left the group after being arrested for selling cocaine and was replaced by Dennis Frederiksen aka Fergie Frederiksen, who was replaced not long after by Joseph Williams.

    Steve Porcaro left the band in 1988, however, he still contributes as a sideman.

    In 1990, Jean-Michel Byron replaced Williams for the new recordings on Past to Present 1977-1990, then left with Lukather becoming the group's lead singer.

    On August 5, 1992, Jeff Porcaro died of a heart attack, days after completing work on Kingdom of Desire. The group considered disbanding, before adding British drummer Simon Phillips for the subsequent tour. In the years since Porcaro's death, Lukather has seemingly succeeded Paich as the band's de facto leader.

    In 1999, Bobby Kimball returned to the lineup after a 15-year absence. stoer

    Greg Phillinganes joined the lineup in 2004 to fill in for David Paich during a tour, then officially joined Toto in 2005.

    After a period of rumours and some allusions, on June 5th, 2008 Steve Lukather made an official announcement on his website, stating: "The fact is yes I have left Toto. There is no more Toto." Lukather further stated that after 31 years of recording, producing and playing with Toto without even missing one single gig, he couldn't do it anymore: "I just can't do it anymore and at 50 years old I wanted to start over and give it one last try on my own." With Lukather being the only original member left in the band (Bobby Kimball was also an original member, but was out of the band from 1984-1998) there was no other option than to call it quits. As the main motivation for his decision, Lukather said: "When Dave retired that was REAL hard for me 'cause we started the band together. Hell, it's 35 years if you count High School where the core all met. When Mike fell ill and had to leave that was it for me. If there isn't Paich or at least one Porcaro how can we even call it Toto?" Luke also stated: "Honestly, I have just had enough. This is NOT a break. It is over. I really can't go out and play Hold The Line with a straight face anymore." The break-up of Toto after 31 years received mixed reactions from the fans, but in general the decision was understood and many agreed with Lukather's reasons to quit the band.

    On April 5th, 2008, Toto played what would be their last show ever, in Seoul, Korea, as a part of their Falling In Between Live tour. This left lots of fans without a real farewell tour.

    On February 26th, 2010, Steve Lukather announced on his Twitter-account that Toto are reforming for a brief tour in Europe in the summer of 2010 to honor bass player Mike Porcaro, who's suffering from ALS syndrome. Line-up will include David Paich, Steve Lukather, Steve Porcaro, Simon Phillips, Joseph Williams and Nathan East.

    Toto released their fourteenth studio album and their first in nine years titled Toto XIV on March 20 (Europe), March 23 (UK and Oceania), and March 24, 2015 (North America). To promote the newly finished project, the band started a world tour running with an extensive European headline arena tour including appearances at key festivals, along with a North American tour to follow in the summer of 2015 and Asia later that year.

    On March 15, 2015, former bassist Mike Porcaro died, due to complications from his battle with ALS, in his sleep at his home in Los Angeles.

    On 6 April 2015, Toto announced that they would embark on 7 August 2015 in Mashantucket, Connecticut with veteran progressive band Yes on a joint summer tour of North America due to end on 12 September 2015 in Coquitlam, British Columbia. Shannon Forrest has continued to perform as the band's drummer.

    On 29 September 2015, Toto announced the first leg of their 2016 Tour in support of Toto XIV consisting of European and Japanese dates. Leland Sklar, who joined them on their 2007 and 2008 tours, replaced founding member Hungate. Sklar left Toto in early 2017 and was replaced by Shem von Schroeck.

    Toto will release their anniversary album "40 Trips Around The Sun" on February 9, 2018. Then, they'll embark on their world tour promoting their album and celebrating 40 years of music.

    The original lineup (1978)

    * David Paich - vocals and keyboards
    * Steve Lukather - guitar and vocals
    * Bobby Kimball - vocals
    * Steve Porcaro - keyboards
    * David Hungate - bass
    * Jeff Porcaro - drums

    The last lineup (2017)

    * David Paich - vocals and keyboards
    * Steve Lukather - guitar and vocals
    * Joseph Williams - vocals
    * Steve Porcaro - vocals and keyboards

    Toto cad95a4741ad48fdaf52effde337d910 Toto 21239f4a91d449bd85b1ab45a1b31a52 Toto 0409c27ee56e4e84a9314e514d0ce9a7 Toto 03f7d7e34c0c4ebdb987cc5f7b84e6ab Toto 407a45c3c4d9477b8e65960bc226da97 Toto eea64be720864b17886e56115b853260 Toto 36a6946173bd411d80969363613020a2 Toto 4bebc53a81b0441eba151a2123a9baf2 Toto 20a20ffafe8693fcb5427700eed22341 Toto c38d88569ef4469ff3c2f046a6d560c8 Toto 9694c266c6654a9c8982ff8745ee2fc5 Toto ea736f7397774253ac4ad6077ff85520 Toto 523958ccf547498d9588b24661b50bb9 Toto 43a1c98eaeb14e1c8415732ca1b5d8c8 Toto 34cdc34593e84af0a17afbb664bfd1d1 Toto 7d28e17a16ab4970b93c9ad6c9079c28 Toto 09f2c95584b2444d8f1710a98c92ab97 Toto a2e484e752bb472e84cef7a343f540fe Toto 400257574ad74452882d40b344d775d5 Toto 7cf2472484854295a47c82fe9f982cd8 Toto 4028902f9dba5ca9ca3d0198d574a8be Toto 5f3a30af7e9547229d256e32d5c5f178 Toto d4a90a6f52614025c044e9683ea8ed2f Toto f8b592322d6144a58818cce64c109b2b Toto 1be0fa426c9943eac3006693a437d69f Toto fa94ed3744a2477ec79320b36bbfd203 Toto 862bda612bc3498f8d7025def53e9267 Toto c313d96a1cc349d9ab8737b822c5b200 Toto 36cbab395b59446797ed147124b43147 Toto fa809dd31c5443f391f2e0fe0b84c027 Toto d406bc1fac03466081b75579ece9bf14 Toto 39e53938006649868f107e1773a8c9ee Toto 1f3596afe36d492fb0ad1194819be2db Toto 0d83b963dc834254b39fe0cf6c42cc90 Toto faf53b64ae8fd39d592d20b43fa81a42