You need flash!
no cover -  

The Smashing Pumpkins

alternative rock rock alternative Grunge 90s

      The Smashing Pumpkins are an band, formed in Chicago, Illinois, USA, in 1988. Billy Corgan and James Iha met in a record store, and began performing in local nightclubs with their bassist, D'arcy Wretzky, using a drum machine. Playing with a drum machine frustrated both the band and their audience, and so Chicago jazz drummer Jimmy Chamberlin was hired soon afterwards.

      Less influenced by than many of their contemporaries, the Pumpkins had a densely layered, guitar-heavy sound, with powerful loud-to-soft-to-loud transitions, while still picking up , , , , -style production.

      In later recordings, namely Adore, the fourth album, an flair filtered in after Jimmy Chamberlin temporarily left the band for drug rehab. Though Jimmy Chamberlin returned for their fifth album, Machina/The Machines of God, electronica undertones remained. The emotional tone of bandleader Billy Corgan's songs ranged from angry (X.Y.U.) to dour (Disarm) to jubilant (Cherub Rock).

      Selling more than 18.3 million albums in the United States alone (as of 2006), The Smashing Pumpkins were one of the most commercially successful and critically acclaimed bands of the 1990s. However, internal fighting, diminishing sales, drug problems, cultural vitality, and what is speculated to be improper treatment from their record company, hampered the band in their later years, leading to the 2000 break-up.

      Prior to the complete dissolution of the original line-up, their final tour (dubbed "Sacred and Profane"), featured former Hole bassist Melissa Auf Der Maur to fill in the gap left by D'arcy Wretzky, who left in September of 1999. Besides touring with the band she also appeared in the videos accompanying "Machina/The Machines of God".

      The band's final album, "MACHINA II / The Friends And Enemies of Modern Music" was unofficially released on vinyl in 2000, prior to their break-up, with the record company refusing to back the band with a pressing. Only 25 vinyl copies were made, each signed by the band. The album was then released across various fan sites by those who received the album and transferred it digitally, as a final tribute to the band's supporters.

      Problems have been seen since then with Billy Corgan, James Iha (who later joined A Perfect Circle), and D'arcy Wretzky, both of whom started their own record company Scratchie Records.

      Billy Corgan would continue from there first forming the band Zwan with members Matt Sweeney, Paz Lenchantin, David Pajo, and Jimmy Chamberlin. After a bad breakup shortly after their debut album Mary Star Of The Sea Billy turned solo and released the album TheFutureEmbrace. Jimmy Chamberlin formed the Jimmy Chamberlin Complex, and Corgan recorded vocals for them on the track entitled Loki Cat.

      In mid-april 2006 The Smashing Pumpkins "reunited" with original members Billy Corgan and Jimmy Chamberlin . They performed live as The Smashing Pumpkins for the first time in 6 and a half years on May 22, 2007 in Paris, France. There, the band unveiled new members Jeff Schroeder, Ginger Reyes and Lisa Harriton who took over rhythm guitarist, bassist and keyboard duties respectively.

      The new line-up's first studio album, titled "Zeitgeist", was released on July 10, 2007 to mixed reviews. It debuted at #2 on the Billboard 200, and in the top ten for several other countries.

      On Jan 2, 2008 the Pumpkins released the American Gothic EP exclusively on iTunes as part of an expanded version of Zeitgeist. The four tracks: "The Rose March", "Again Again Again (The Crux)", "Pox", and "Sunkissed" demonstrate a more acoustic sound when compared to the rest of Zeitgeist.

      In March, 2008 the group contributed the song "Superchrist" to a compilation CD released by Guitar Center. Though Corgan and Chamberlin have continued to record as a duo, Jeff Schroeder indicated that he might be contributing to future recordings. No longer signed to a record label, Corgan and Chamberlin purchased a recording studio in Chicago and began recording in May, again, as a pair. The band released the single G.L.O.W. on October 1st of 2008.

      On March 20, 2009, it was announced Jimmy Chamberlin had left the band, leaving Billy Corgan the only original member left in the band. It is reported Corgan plans to continue using the Smashing Pumpkins name and return to the studio to make new music.

      On August 17th, 2009, Mike Byrne was confirmed as the new Smashing Pumpkins drummer.

      Formally announced by the frontman Billy Corgan on September 16, 2009, the 44-song concept album Teargarden by Kaleidyscope will be released over the Internet, from the band's official website for free, one song at a time. Available for download so far are: "A Song for a Son" from December 8, 2009; and "Widow Wake My Mind" from January 18, 2010.

      The Smashing Pumpkins 3223e55a736a41019ea9077cf2b87379 The Smashing Pumpkins 0314191a39d1332961d71c07c842edcf The Smashing Pumpkins 2259da79cdf8489ca5622649e4298915 The Smashing Pumpkins bd886762a8864f85ab581fcba0bc791e The Smashing Pumpkins 054705c5546741d98db8ff6e5de0c431 The Smashing Pumpkins a317b2e30cf940b3a47eedd6ec851807 The Smashing Pumpkins da9efc6cc81a4b6f953c4b8e1da0905e The Smashing Pumpkins 11aef1441edf4350bac08f0a84711b3b The Smashing Pumpkins 7664f57678bb4fd3b6bb5a48f0bb32a2 The Smashing Pumpkins b7852731469e45498b72c1e3279fa203 The Smashing Pumpkins 45bd93a3528d4cd4ad326fbeeee3d85f The Smashing Pumpkins 223b611655ba4689a37694662c76a16f The Smashing Pumpkins 45849953a190420cb6a92d9eccddc619 The Smashing Pumpkins 05fa636424974da38156860bbed884d7 The Smashing Pumpkins e8b6e68cbba24ce882dcb8ea1c31d9dc The Smashing Pumpkins 477ec23188514d588dc6ad9c8bcceb46 The Smashing Pumpkins bb836457ab26484cb42f13150b268097 The Smashing Pumpkins 8076184e1c0641fbb5c6c83950939007 The Smashing Pumpkins bad540c6130a4d0190dce8a86765990a The Smashing Pumpkins 91fc88734acf44e0beafc2e8301a183c The Smashing Pumpkins 95664e07632e49d9a8d6c3837327f54e The Smashing Pumpkins 6120e3d09975449cb7345a12f2a4956c The Smashing Pumpkins 06c61dff9b424d5fa4d12751cc21f3f9 The Smashing Pumpkins 83653346350d424284b757883b1d602c The Smashing Pumpkins 2e357a858b5f44aa8b7172cbd8c18d90 The Smashing Pumpkins 989f605e06e7489889d20b2a02c78a6f The Smashing Pumpkins 306cd89d69184671a820cd70035a3fca The Smashing Pumpkins e9fe6fcaf9aa48509ae5db952ca2970d The Smashing Pumpkins a8e11181384547aa9c34f4c8bf220ea2 The Smashing Pumpkins 8ead691c300e4b509ba86657321d9fed The Smashing Pumpkins c4762f8d5e3544bb8b3ebbf04495208e The Smashing Pumpkins 29391acbd5f44933bc7f422809de2adc The Smashing Pumpkins 45b5dd43d15743caa3872fcfeb1afc0c The Smashing Pumpkins 93d2908947974a889885949081e442cf The Smashing Pumpkins d5188eef42c0460aa3e2d05d1b46aace The Smashing Pumpkins d16f7650d54841f09918ebec69c14199 The Smashing Pumpkins 24f5410018f84bbb95625f1fe8e9a9f3 The Smashing Pumpkins edf2be2fe8184aa9b953ccb5750ef54c The Smashing Pumpkins b9a96e95e2ef47c793108da0ea606511 The Smashing Pumpkins aa093be5488f401ea79cd5596e6e8111