You need flash!
no cover -  

The Dismemberment Plan

indie rock indie post-punk alternative seen live

    The Dismemberment Plan is an / band formed in Washington, D.C., United States on January 1, 1993. Also known as "The D-Plan" or "The Plan," the band's name comes from a stray phrase uttered by the insurance salesman in the popular comedy Groundhog Day. The band members include Eric Axelson (bass), Jason Caddell (guitar), Joe Easley (drums) and Travis Morrison (vocals and guitar). Axelson, Caddell, Morrison and original drummer Steve Cummings formed the band after attending Lake Braddock Secondary School together in Burke, Virginia. Cummings left the band after the recording of the Plan's debut album ! and was replaced by Easley starting on their second LP, The Dismemberment Plan Is Terrified.

    Aside from a brief interlude in 1998 and 1999 when they were signed by major label Interscope Records, the band recorded for local label DeSoto Records. Their third record and breakthrough album, Emergency & I, was actually created during their time at Interscope; however, they were dropped from the label shortly after its completion, and thus took it back with them to DeSoto, where it wound up being released. The Ice of Boston EP is the only item of theirs Interscope actually released during their tenure there.

    Following the massive underground success of Emergency & I, the band received an even higher profile after being invited to open for the European leg of Pearl Jam's 2000 tour. The band recorded and released a follow-up to Emergency & I, Change, in 2001 using the severance money they received from Interscope, and a subsequent co-headlining tour in 2002 with Death Cab for Cutie (cheekily called the "Death and Dismemberment Tour") also worked well to raise both bands' profiles and cross-pollinate their fanbases, as well as forge creative ties between several members.

    Later that summer and fall, the Dismemberment Plan started to debut songs for their follow-up to Change. In 2002, the band put all the music tracks from their last two albums on their website, encouraging fans to remix the songs. The result was 2003's A People's History of the Dismemberment Plan. On January 19, 2003, however, the band announced on their website that they had decided to break up after a few tours that year. A final show was planned for July 28, 2003 in Washington D.C.'s famous outdoor show space, Fort Reno Park. However, come show-time, a heavy rain had driven off all but the most devoted fans, leading the band to add one more final show.

    On September 1, 2003, the band closed out the first part of their career with a sold-out show at the renowned 9:30 Club. Following the split, Travis Morrison took the post-Change songs with him for further work, and released many of them on his first album, Travistan, in 2004. Jason Caddell worked with Morrison on Morrison's second album, All Y'all, which was released under the name Travis Morrison Hellfighters. Eric Axelson started a band called Maritime with former members of The Promise Ring; they released an album, Glass Floor, in 2004. Axelson subsequently left Maritime and joined the band Statehood in mid-2006 with Joe Easley until the tragic death of Clark Sabine in June 2009. The Dismemberment Plan itself even reunited for two shows to benefit Cal Robbins at the Black Cat in Washington, D.C. on April 29 and April 30, 2007. A full reunion still seemed unlikely, though, and on July 2, 2009, Travis Morrison announced his retirement from music, stating that there would be no more shows or bands.

    In late 2010, however, the Dismemberment Plan announced that they would reunite for a full-scale tour in 2011 coinciding with Barsuk's vinyl reissue of Emergency & I. At the time, the band denied that they were planning a new record, but implied that one could be possible. By the time the tour was finished, the band played on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, as well as three performances in Washington, D.C., the Pitchfork Music Festival, Philadelphia's Roots Picnic, and ten other dates.

    The band reconvened once again in 2012 and played several small-venue shows in Baltimore, Maryland and Fredericksburg, Virginia, where they debuted eight new songs; a month later, Travis Morrison confirmed that they were working on a new record. On June 26, 2013, the band officially announced their fifth studio album (and first new record in 12 years), entitled Uncanney Valley. It was released via Partisan Records on October 15, 2013.

    The Dismemberment Plan 2a76a3c26e144e898c41f45b00be3cf5 The Dismemberment Plan 7cb8dbd135164ef19a00b95a5d8bea75 The Dismemberment Plan 51e0da7f203c4c189fcc6970d290e9ea The Dismemberment Plan fab8a94af05446b8abd563369c25405c The Dismemberment Plan 8ce49abd9ed84a2d862760cc52a9e1ad The Dismemberment Plan 94aa531eb7364b57854d76328c1df346 The Dismemberment Plan c5f24dda63994df3bee443507657d003 The Dismemberment Plan 3ba294c1e0a1497298124ac5282ca7ec The Dismemberment Plan e4e6e38137334f77b071470448c9fb7d The Dismemberment Plan a8c1a620eade429b8c6da2e631e6498c The Dismemberment Plan 16d9a3f5e55f4a80a455c85a8380ed37 The Dismemberment Plan 8e5ebbeedce1486590abd25f19ef0550 The Dismemberment Plan fc8e1823fcbc47c497329d7449e56389 The Dismemberment Plan 7028e7836d21431cbccfbebedca88ed7 The Dismemberment Plan d0f22b6c50d34073bec81fd956ca4409 The Dismemberment Plan 29911bf2a2b74bb795f57666a3eb7b86 The Dismemberment Plan 1dfd3a420eb045dca9e416025e4cb38d The Dismemberment Plan 19061e81cf864c79b63bfa7a91793812 The Dismemberment Plan f5da584b1d4a481299594da723956084 The Dismemberment Plan 34db11d8cd1c46748fa9eddca01a04c7