You need flash!
no cover -  


black metal Norwegian Black Metal norwegian True Norwegian Black Metal seen live

Taake is a Norwegian band from Bergen, formed in 1993 and originally named Thule. The band's one continuous member is Hoest, who writes and records most of the music. He has released six full-length albums and several EPs. The band describes itself as "True Norwegian black metal", and Hoest said that he wants to "awaken national pride and cultural nostalgia in my Norwegian listeners" as well as to remind people "that Hell is right here on Earth and that humans can be demons". All lyrics are in Hoest's native dialect and are printed in Norse runes. "Taake" is the old spelling of the Norwegian word "tåke", meaning "fog.

In 1993, Ørjan Stedjeberg (then known as 'Ulvhedin'), formed the first version of the band Taake under the name Thule, together with drummer 'Svartulv'. Thule released two demos, Der vinterstormene raste in 1993 and Omfavnet av svarte vinger in 1994. Shortly after, the band changed its name to Taake and 'Ulvhedin' adopted the new pseudonym 'Hoest' (meaning "autumn" or "harvest"). In 1995, the released the demo Manndaudsvinter in 1995. This was followed in 1996 by a 7" EP called Koldbrann i jesu marg.

Between 1999 and 2005, Taake released three full-length albums. They are a trilogy of concept albums linked by the topics of "death, Norway, and the devil in man".

The first full-length album, Nattestid ser porten vid, was released by Wounded Love Records in 1999. The album was written entirely by Hoest, but he brought in a session musician, 'Tundra', to perform bass guitar and drums. It was recorded throughout 1997 and 1998 at the Grieg Hall.

The second installment of the trilogy, Over bjoergvin graater himmerik, was released in 2002 by Wounded Love Records. On this record, Hoest surrounded himself with a band: second guitarist 'C. Corax', bassist and pianist 'Keridwen', and drummer 'Mutt' (Gaahlskagg, Trelldom, Sigfader).

The final installment of the trilogy, Hordalands doedskvad, was released in 2005 by Dark Essence Records. It features second guitarist 'C. Corax', bassist 'Lava' and drummer 'Mord'. It also features several guest vocalists, including 'Nattefrost' (Carpathian Forest), 'Nordavind' (Carpathian Forest) and 'Taipan' (Orcustus).

Over the following three years, Taake released four short EPs and played a few festivals (most notably the Hole in the Sky Festival in Norway, with Ivar Bjørnson of Enslaved on guitar), but according to Hoest, Taake was "on ice for a while".

Before the 2006–2007 European tour, Taake revamped their official homepage. Following the infamous March 2007 show in Essen, the band were removed from several festivals and received much backlash. At the same time, Lava, who had been bass guitarist since 2002, left the band.

In 2008, a fourth album was released, recorded entirely by Hoest and simply named Taake. The album was recorded for Hoest's own label Svartekunst Produksjoner, and was distributed via Dark Essence Records.

In 2011, Taake released the EP Kveld, featuring both new and re-recorded songs. This was followed shortly after by Taake's fifth full-length album, Noregs vaapen. Hoest collaborated with many prominent Norwegian black-metallers for this record including Attila Csihar, Nocturno Culto, Demonaz and Ivar Bjørnson. It was again released on his own label Svartekunst Produksjoner to much critical acclaim. The album was nominated for the prestigious Spellemann award in Norway for top metal release. This nomination was met with some derision due to anti-Islamic lyrics.

To mark the band's 20th anniversary, Taake released the compilation album Gravkamre, kroner og troner in 2013.

Taake played their first show in the United States in May 2014 at Maryland Deathfest in Baltimore.

In 2014, Taake released the sixth full-length album Stridens hus and the EP Kulde through Dark Essence Records. In support of this record and as a follow up to their successful show in Maryland, Taake announced an East Coast US tour for the first time in their history, to begin in June 2015.

Taake d2c1b9b4ebb2e385414e66ee5b41889d Taake e40610fb55c94a289f712fac0adb5773 Taake 0c5f4a809030467b84d73549a597d35b Taake c18de583ee164a6ea88114248bdb2977 Taake fd4e22cf6d32440bb9bbb3aefdb7d48f Taake 56fcf2eb0d194ab7b736d023dcbca31c Taake bb3d8256cf8f43b6acc6af3d17cf1bd1 Taake 2e91f0efd4144e24b26e4d965f315a58 Taake fcfd187438ee411ca730b57bdb6021ee Taake 286b0afe981040dbbe945173531d3845 Taake ef723a7f06344b2d865c09fa34465c1e Taake a0b7d8a726f442cba9d0643e19846277 Taake 25889ffbabde4db282cfd6f342b6fa2a Taake 905360c9526e45e184a4bb09fbe194d4 Taake 71584d00a538497790424a26702a2516 Taake 7629c20429214b5ebdabcc1758a978e9 Taake c6d8e0fd94544680a55f67699e4e3238 Taake 32139771642049009da40d378533994b Taake 404fff4f1b69436da196f2516458bbe3 Taake c510dcf4b8254d089917ef3d41e09111 Taake f04d67b56bc2435a8e7360857f817d55 Taake bfc8a835c5554ce7b004308c8e12ce9c Taake 470b31feac2640caad41d0683ce8339b Taake 4df6dda7f0db47119d54ba2f305a192b Taake c241ef75ed4d47d496f96c195e24b979 Taake ba4b6d9977f147b9ae884db4112e0f23 Taake 7e1a402f489249cc88efaf8bbff78e46 Taake 95cec69361946c147585837f13280862 Taake ec07b76a576b435f868082769686872d Taake 6aae734c642d44f98f2cc13827727a89 Taake 7df493e05f5546608a64b79d2c8c2e6a Taake 2e7644e3d3104c57b4ad563806e34e29 Taake 31e83b257d324a069dddfe306589ce40 Taake b317d764f42b42bf8d54fd3bca63d31a Taake d5b9079a8bf642ceb0609706b7cd7c9b Taake 4bbb5835a4da4dc28dd8a64f06116eab Taake 900373a17c4d433180409edaf7f8abce Taake 56b62a661b434d78ab757611cd48fb2f Taake b0be516902654fcb822de90faf87ab21 Taake 32521a26ba6846a982a3cbb40c82e81d