You need flash!
no cover -  

Sigur Rós

post-rock ambient icelandic alternative indie

      Sigur Rós are an band. The name is derived from the name of lead vocalist Jónsi Birgisson's little sister, Sigurrós. They hail from the same creative and vibrant Icelandic music scene as múm and Amiina. They released their first ever foray into film-making with their tour documentary, Heima in late 2007.

      Jón Þór Birgisson (Jónsi), Georg Hólm, and Ágúst Ævar Gunnarsson formed the group in Reykjavík, Iceland in August 1994. They soon won a record deal with a local record label, Smekkleysa (Bad Taste). In 1997, they released Von (Hope) and in 1998, released a remix collection named Von brigði. The name is Icelandic wordplay: Vonbrigði means "disappointment," but Von brigði means "hope alteration." (In English, the album is sometimes known by the alternative name "Recycle Bin.")

      International acclaim came with 1999's Ágætis Byrjun ("An alright start"), for which the band were joined by Kjartan Sveinsson. The album's reputation slowly spread by word of mouth over the next two years. Soon, many critics worldwide hailed it as one of the best albums of its time and the band was playing with Radiohead and other big names. Drummer Ágúst left the band after the recording of Ágætis Byrjun and was replaced by Orri Páll Dýrason.

      After the release of Ágætis Byrjun, the band became perhaps most well known for Birgisson's signature style of playing guitar with the bow from a cello, accentuated with reverb, creating a sweeping, fluid sound that is unique for an electric guitar.

      In early 2001, Sigur Rós set out to record some songs in their newly-completed álafoss swimming pool studio with their friend Steindór Andersen who is a fisherman and chairman of the Icelandic poetry society, Iðunn. Steindór is a chanter/singer of the traditional Icelandic epic poetry form, called "rímur," for which the band named their next EP, Rímur. Only 1000 copies of the EP were printed and sold in the spring tour of 2001.

      In 2002, their highly anticipated follow-up album ( ) was released. Upon release all tracks on the album were untitled, though the band later published song names on their website. Famously, all of the lyrics on ( ) are sung in vonlenska ("Hopelandic"), nonsensical vocalisations which resemble the sound of the Icelandic language. It has also been said that the listener is supposed to interpret their own meanings of the lyrics, which can then be written in the blank pages in the album booklet.

      In October of 2003, Sigur Rós joined Radiohead in composing music for Merce Cunningham's dance piece Split Sides; Sigur Rós’s three tracks were named "Ba Ba," "Ti Ki," and "Di Do" and released in March of 2004 on an EP titled Ba Ba Ti Ki Di Do The three songs are separate tracks, but the band intended that all three be played at the same time to form one single song. The band's 1997 debut album Von also finally found a United States and United Kingdom release in October of 2004. Their latest full-length album, Takk... (Thanks…), was released on September 13, 2005, with a free legal download of their first single, "Glósóli," made available on August 15. For North American fans, "Sæglópur" was made available for download on August 16."Hoppípolla," the second official single from Takk…, was released on November 28 alongside a new studio remake of "Hafsól," a song which was previously released on the band's 1997 debut, Von.

      Sæglópur EP was released on July 10th in most parts of the world and on August 8th in the United States. Its original release date was May 8th, but because of the sudden demand of "Hoppípolla," especially in the UK due to its inclusion on BBC's "Planet Earth," it was pushed back from that date. Sigur Rós recorded three new songs for the EP: "Refur," "Ófriður," and "Kafari."

      The Hvarf/Heim double album was released on November 5, 2007. Hvarf contains reworkings of songs dating back to the bands' first album, whereas Heim contains live acoustic versions of more well known songs. The double album was an accompaniment to the film Heima. Heima is a documentary showing footage of the band's tour of Iceland, including live footage and interviews. The official web site is

      Sigur Rós has sold over 2.5 million albums worldwide.

      On June 23, 2008, they released Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust.
      The single "Gobbledigook" was available for a free download on their website.

      In January 2010, the band began a hiatus, and they are now working on new material. On August 11, 2011, the band's website showed a trailer for a project called Inni. A week later, the project was revealed to be a new live album and DVD, although the release date is currently unknown.

      Sigur Rós'' sixth studio album, Valtari, was released on May 29, 2012 on Parlophone.

      In January 2013, Kjartan Sveinsson left the band and was not replaced. Sigur Rós's first album following his departure was titled Kveikur and released in June 2013.

      In 2014, the band made a guest appearance in the HBO show 'Game of Thrones', performing The Rains of Castamere in the 2nd episode of the 4th season.

      Both websites include discography, band trivia, song lyrics, and news: and

      Sigur Rós 2eb8f8238d124aebbc7acbd2cc84ed39 Sigur Rós b4d06bd23c03102c4e2575f69d81ce25 Sigur Rós 8ca43d856e9845198e83d876cc6e4431 Sigur Rós f322cffb742848ab83aa00a002cb8ff9 Sigur Rós 7c051f9f131545dcc56802573a045836 Sigur Rós 9919ad3b4aea41cc9ed9608763a7e5c5 Sigur Rós 7604b718fecf44dbc4beaf7f6d7e9062 Sigur Rós 2defaa0083c74382c3c414dc94e75563 Sigur Rós f89c6551b8f947c7a8e053a1f4f2887d Sigur Rós a5118a3a44f841efc1ad128a53cf680e Sigur Rós d73310d8afda430babffcc103a847435 Sigur Rós b8b1ddbb445547a681d74873ca9984f4 Sigur Rós 683c046e940e5e8b7cb17cd8eca9b54c Sigur Rós 312015ee96cf4d91cd3c60ff4d031ab7 Sigur Rós 83621f9a8a114f0b964f39d2c128b027 Sigur Rós 1ed1d76ba9d14a4f91018ed2fb6d0042 Sigur Rós 6dd66922f96241a39a1dc8fba50bf7e9 Sigur Rós 35d8b073621544bda5faceb93faa520d Sigur Rós ec18e551a4a14b36aad9a06af3857913 Sigur Rós cf4e2c8634b54b44bed24fa8d88f1a48 Sigur Rós d584be77afa147aaa65894bb8231519a Sigur Rós ebcf736306e7479fb18badd1e7a846ac Sigur Rós 90948f0971bb400f828be5c923bd8c86 Sigur Rós 21a758238387489da6c286f347e9a50a Sigur Rós a90afddfc8f84b5c88fa8ea4877c3e35 Sigur Rós e273c8c0620a4f6bb400a57aa615c068 Sigur Rós 1cb7c3262a664d1da6f7a548e2f3036d Sigur Rós f078ef21df4f4705bd35cd8b3ff21def Sigur Rós 67a59c798329479286fd4332fd3734f4 Sigur Rós 074903a607e94da48797f2a42c478ba5 Sigur Rós c1204dbeeb8e4c70b19d65bf00149fc0 Sigur Rós 8819beac31bb4ad8979efdeb56a6dba5 Sigur Rós 9ccc6c695c38459e9673a1d369f860e4 Sigur Rós 1f3d55b88aea4e049231882c2dfe92f0 Sigur Rós 8345863e6f90f83d58fff2be3ff0863f Sigur Rós 0719d553bc444f27acf3e2670270aa56 Sigur Rós 7e7872dbc14443229e595fdd9e1ddd18 Sigur Rós a7760895d47644bcb62d761ae6702cdc Sigur Rós 8e657fcf071f4b1780bafb91f25a76dd Sigur Rós 66cd08fdf0a87a9d396534becd9749e1