You need flash!
no cover -  

Sigur Rós

post-rock ambient icelandic alternative indie

    Sigur Rós are an band. The name is derived from the name of lead vocalist Jónsi Birgisson's little sister, Sigurrós. They hail from the same creative and vibrant Icelandic music scene as múm and Amiina. They released their first ever foray into film-making with their tour documentary, Heima in late 2007.

    Jón Þór Birgisson (Jónsi), Georg Hólm, and Ágúst Ævar Gunnarsson formed the group in Reykjavík, Iceland in August 1994. They soon won a record deal with a local record label, Smekkleysa (Bad Taste). In 1997, they released Von (Hope) and in 1998, released a remix collection named Von brigði. The name is Icelandic wordplay: Vonbrigði means "disappointment," but Von brigði means "hope alteration." (In English, the album is sometimes known by the alternative name "Recycle Bin.")

    International acclaim came with 1999's Ágætis Byrjun ("An alright start"), for which the band were joined by Kjartan Sveinsson. The album's reputation slowly spread by word of mouth over the next two years. Soon, many critics worldwide hailed it as one of the best albums of its time and the band was playing with Radiohead and other big names. Drummer Ágúst left the band after the recording of Ágætis Byrjun and was replaced by Orri Páll Dýrason.

    After the release of Ágætis Byrjun, the band became perhaps most well known for Birgisson's signature style of playing guitar with the bow from a cello, accentuated with reverb, creating a sweeping, fluid sound that is unique for an electric guitar.

    In early 2001, Sigur Rós set out to record some songs in their newly-completed álafoss swimming pool studio with their friend Steindór Andersen who is a fisherman and chairman of the Icelandic poetry society, Iðunn. Steindór is a chanter/singer of the traditional Icelandic epic poetry form, called "rímur," for which the band named their next EP, Rímur. Only 1000 copies of the EP were printed and sold in the spring tour of 2001.

    In 2002, their highly anticipated follow-up album ( ) was released. Upon release all tracks on the album were untitled, though the band later published song names on their website. Famously, all of the lyrics on ( ) are sung in vonlenska ("Hopelandic"), nonsensical vocalisations which resemble the sound of the Icelandic language. It has also been said that the listener is supposed to interpret their own meanings of the lyrics, which can then be written in the blank pages in the album booklet.

    In October of 2003, Sigur Rós joined Radiohead in composing music for Merce Cunningham's dance piece Split Sides; Sigur Rós’s three tracks were named "Ba Ba," "Ti Ki," and "Di Do" and released in March of 2004 on an EP titled Ba Ba Ti Ki Di Do The three songs are separate tracks, but the band intended that all three be played at the same time to form one single song. The band's 1997 debut album Von also finally found a United States and United Kingdom release in October of 2004. Their latest full-length album, Takk... (Thanks…), was released on September 13, 2005, with a free legal download of their first single, "Glósóli," made available on August 15. For North American fans, "Sæglópur" was made available for download on August 16."Hoppípolla," the second official single from Takk…, was released on November 28 alongside a new studio remake of "Hafsól," a song which was previously released on the band's 1997 debut, Von.

    Sæglópur EP was released on July 10th in most parts of the world and on August 8th in the United States. Its original release date was May 8th, but because of the sudden demand of "Hoppípolla," especially in the UK due to its inclusion on BBC's "Planet Earth," it was pushed back from that date. Sigur Rós recorded three new songs for the EP: "Refur," "Ófriður," and "Kafari."

    The Hvarf/Heim double album was released on November 5, 2007. Hvarf contains reworkings of songs dating back to the bands' first album, whereas Heim contains live acoustic versions of more well known songs. The double album was an accompaniment to the film Heima. Heima is a documentary showing footage of the band's tour of Iceland, including live footage and interviews. The official web site is

    Sigur Rós has sold over 2.5 million albums worldwide.

    On June 23, 2008, they released Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust.
    The single "Gobbledigook" was available for a free download on their website.

    In January 2010, the band began a hiatus, and they are now working on new material. On August 11, 2011, the band's website showed a trailer for a project called Inni. A week later, the project was revealed to be a new live album and DVD, although the release date is currently unknown.

    Sigur Rós'' sixth studio album, Valtari, was released on May 29, 2012 on Parlophone.

    In January 2013, Kjartan Sveinsson left the band and was not replaced. Sigur Rós's first album following his departure was titled Kveikur and released in June 2013.

    In 2014, the band made a guest appearance in the HBO show 'Game of Thrones', performing The Rains of Castamere in the 2nd episode of the 4th season.

    Both websites include discography, band trivia, song lyrics, and news: and

    Sigur Rós d0a558d05ce7411ab17b8048f4f8d9e1 Sigur Rós 35d8b073621544bda5faceb93faa520d Sigur Rós 1cb7c3262a664d1da6f7a548e2f3036d Sigur Rós f322cffb742848ab83aa00a002cb8ff9 Sigur Rós 8819beac31bb4ad8979efdeb56a6dba5 Sigur Rós 8345863e6f90f83d58fff2be3ff0863f Sigur Rós 9919ad3b4aea41cc9ed9608763a7e5c5 Sigur Rós d7de8d27cae84a6e9c095c66ca3d5ee1 Sigur Rós 167ace2b94fa403691af55cc92a9204e Sigur Rós 075e0198f43c485eb740d39e42d71193 Sigur Rós 19c8a465a3954e39a5fccd00c8393f5b Sigur Rós 90d04ef286a04c00adc5c62dbf6979aa Sigur Rós a7e2b47dfa6b4456909dc76b3901f4f3 Sigur Rós de34a0c44cea4283b6c5b44a93d8b35e Sigur Rós 822befb416a84a3296035829c1083a46 Sigur Rós 3712143dd2424918b8667572b902b97f Sigur Rós f89c6551b8f947c7a8e053a1f4f2887d Sigur Rós 1c16b068678e4e7bb76374b6ce0d4ee4 Sigur Rós a916d6f9375c4e37b0b6da258f6e41fa Sigur Rós db3fcc99b1a74300ade8d858715eb76f Sigur Rós 771017537d5f46f8b080bab8408331c7 Sigur Rós c1aa9e6c439a4e77a4822a5e5d89634b Sigur Rós 97492d4539a945f8c5d9037ac9ef2683 Sigur Rós fa5ed4552731452ac5892ed2b05bc9a4 Sigur Rós 0300ddba0cb44a7cca1fe856edaa1f1e Sigur Rós 1ed1d76ba9d14a4f91018ed2fb6d0042 Sigur Rós 2eb8f8238d124aebbc7acbd2cc84ed39 Sigur Rós cf4e2c8634b54b44bed24fa8d88f1a48 Sigur Rós d584be77afa147aaa65894bb8231519a Sigur Rós ebcf736306e7479fb18badd1e7a846ac Sigur Rós 90948f0971bb400f828be5c923bd8c86 Sigur Rós 11b8fa06208d4647a275cc4b4af27042 Sigur Rós a90afddfc8f84b5c88fa8ea4877c3e35 Sigur Rós 0dd4e1bf36744c41bb55f12a57df805b Sigur Rós e273c8c0620a4f6bb400a57aa615c068 Sigur Rós f078ef21df4f4705bd35cd8b3ff21def Sigur Rós 8ca43d856e9845198e83d876cc6e4431 Sigur Rós 67a59c798329479286fd4332fd3734f4 Sigur Rós 074903a607e94da48797f2a42c478ba5 Sigur Rós c1204dbeeb8e4c70b19d65bf00149fc0