You need flash!
no cover -  


electronic chillout ambient electronica norwegian

    Röyksopp is an music duo formed in 1998 in Tromsø, Norway and currently based in Bergen, Norway. The band consists of Torbjørn Brundtland and Svein Berge, both being songwriters, producers and remixers. They usually rely on the use of other vocalists for their songs and occasionally they perform the vocal parts. The Norwegian word "røyksopp" means puffball fungus (literally "smoke mushroom"), but the band has stated in interviews that they are actually referring to the mushroom cloud created by atomic bombs.

    Brundtland and Berge were schoolmates in their hometown Tromsø, experimenting with electronic instruments in the early 90s and being a part of their city's techno scene. As they grew up in northern Norway, they listened to local artists like Bel Canto and Biosphere. The band has also expressed their interest in the music of Kraftwerk, Brian Eno, Giorgio Moroder, Art of Noise, Vangelis, Erik Satie, and Francis Lai. They were members of various electro acts in their youth, such as Alanïa, Drum Island and Aedena Cycle. After recording as part of Aedena Cycle, Berge and Brundtland left the group to form their own band, Röyksopp.

    In 8 October 2001, Röyksopp released their debut album Melody A.M. on Wall of Sound label. This critically acclaimed album reached #1 in Norway charts, #9 in UK Albums Chart, #18 in US Top Electronic Albums. Melody A.M. spawned five singles: "So Easy" (released in 1999, re-released in 2002), "Eple" (released in July 2001, re-released in 24 February 2003; #16 UK), "Poor Leno", featuring Erlend Øye (released in 3 December 2001, re-released on 18 November 2002; #38 UK), "Remind Me", featuring Erlend Øye (5 August 2002; #21 UK), and "Sparks", featuring Anneli Drecker (2003; #41 UK).

    The band became famous for their original music videos (the infographic-styled video by French company H5 for the track "Remind Me", won the 2002 MTV Europe Music Award for best music video). The single "Eple" (meaning "apple") was used by Apple Inc. as the music for the startup video for Mac OS X 10.3.

    In 4 July 2005, the band issued their sophomore album The Understanding on Wall of Sound. The album was preceded by the hit single "Only This Moment", featuring Kate Havnevik (27 June 2005; #33 UK). Another four singles followed: "49 Percent" (26 September 2005; #55 UK), "Curves" (non-album single; 3 October 2005), "What Else Is There?", featuring Karin Dreijer of The Knife (5 December 2005; #4 Norway, #32 UK) and "Beautiful Day Without You" (26 June 2006).

    Röyksopp's Night Out EP was released in 27 February 2006 and it contains live recordings from a concert in Norway, Rockefeller (Oslo) in November 2005. The album contains a new dance version of their single "Sparks" and a reinterpretation of the song "Go With the Flow”, originally by Queens of the Stone Age. In 5 March 2007, the group issued Back to Mine: Röyksopp, a compilation album from the Back to Mine series, compiled and mixed by the band.

    On 23 March 2009, Röyksopp released their third album Junior on Wall of Sound. Röyksopp have invited several guest artists, like Robyn, Anneli Drecker, Karin Dreijer, Lykke Li, to perform on various songs from Junior. The first single "Happy Up Here" was released on 19 January 2009 (digital)/16 March 2009 (vinyl) and peaked on #3 in Norway and on #44 in UK. Another two singles supported the album' sales: "The Girl And The Robot", featuring Robyn (15 June 2009; #2 Norway) and "This Must Be It", featuring Karin Dreijer (2 November 2009).

    Since 2010, the band started posting on their official site new exclusive songs available for free download (usually a song every month), known as Rö Track Of The Month.

    In 13 September 2010, Röyksopp released the fourth album Senior, the atmospheric counterpart of Junior. The first single from the album, "The Drug", was released on 9 August 2010.

    Official site:

    Röyksopp 90b0067c264e47c0911ef7e7e8e08a98 Röyksopp 2807d21926b442d2b1269a9f8b1262c1 Röyksopp 72e06f19fa58441fbb487a7e65291c81 Röyksopp 8a427fdf43a741abac0a77c9993d0aaf Röyksopp eeee40778a05434292e1914a3531c9ae Röyksopp c645d451fbc94f4783a9feb2dae8771c Röyksopp 6091372c77bf4ae28de6e8934db32a3a Röyksopp a4396fdf15f94208b95026f61597f69a Röyksopp 011c92d0d04f4b94861e0ea7f0b84c9e Röyksopp ce56412edbe54a9b8061b2fe664866da Röyksopp 8bd4e9c32be04459a143e0bc5fa5cfc7 Röyksopp e1f8ae8034a24dd3a1f59628242cd9fa Röyksopp bbb6f6322a6c47e5acae0f1a7e937888 Röyksopp 9047d5adb2634fe7afa116dd5d5ca7b4 Röyksopp d002857b26554de0834f0ba7d9d8d8cc Röyksopp 275aae63f1704ef9be106209bb92d4f0 Röyksopp 2bdce855acb2481c9961cbe1e3c8a351 Röyksopp dd12c17583bd4263859dff4141af2fae Röyksopp af58c6afcc6a49f89c263e91ff2cd9a7 Röyksopp d7cac7eb9f2eb696d13b3d9952cdb008 Röyksopp 398e1eb42dad47179856e6c4334defae Röyksopp 2b878825728a426f9a54743451ac547f Röyksopp d6bbfa85890a4d3dbd229bbeeec2faa1 Röyksopp 24761ea2f97e46e39b61abcb4d46cb1a Röyksopp 601377ea8d9d446eb03c57333392d92a Röyksopp e4d0479e19854192923585bd6e4a0ccf Röyksopp 6ce697d1acbc4da4a8e8b19ad4e2d8af Röyksopp 146bc56f41d74aba93542a50858926c8 Röyksopp 6bd48995bf6e4d50a9251196d1b4af61 Röyksopp 276f7a00cf4647e1b399bd7832551b7a Röyksopp 72cbf4ad09e9426bb28ffd6acf9df508 Röyksopp 71541147cbdc49e6a38d32009135636f Röyksopp dfaf4d248b334699999fa14c8357d42f Röyksopp a3a4d52e41014a71bf209d9a64fdadaa Röyksopp 54132484c01a49f6bea6a33125fb8506 Röyksopp 92ece3693dc54b98af0952b42f1cf5ff Röyksopp ee095e97325c4970a9d0ca74636c21c5 Röyksopp 4c01500f807b4fe180d745e98874e8ad Röyksopp 89f45d1b8a5642f89a105004f2ae1518 Röyksopp 3403d6fe69774826ac361b676eb04f8b