You need flash!
no cover -  

Panic! at the Disco

rock alternative emo pop punk indie

      Panic! at the Disco is American hailing from Las Vegas, Nevada. The current sole member is vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Brendon Urie. Their debut album A Fever You Can't Sweat Out has sold over 2.2 million copies worldwide, 1.5 million of which were in the United States alone. This shot them into the international spotlight. Their sophomore album Pretty. Odd. debuted at number 2 on the Billboard 200. The band released their third album, entitled Vices & Virtues, on March 22, 2011, while the record's first single, "The Ballad of Mona Lisa" was released February 1, 2011.

      Although the band officially formed as Panic! at the Disco in 2004, the first incarnation of the band was formed in 2002 under the name "Pet Salamander", with Ryan Ross, Spencer Smith, Brent Wilson, and Trevor Howell. It was during this time that Ryan Ross wrote "Time To Dance" and "I Write Sins Not Tragedies", so some consider the band to have formed as of 2002.

      In 2005, Panic! at the Disco, which at the time included Urie, Smith, guitarist/lyricist Ryan Ross, and bassist Brent Wilson, was discovered by Pete Wentz of Fall Out Boy, who, after hearing demos the band uploaded to PureVolume went to Las Vegas to hear the band play in their garage. He immediately signed them to his Fueled By Ramen label imprint Decaydance. After their debut A Fever You Can't Sweat Out was released, bassist Brent Wilson left the band. Although he claims he was fired, the other members deny this.

      The success of their first two singles helped catapult their debut album to the top of the Billboard Independent chart and to #13 on the Billboard 200 in July 2006. With Jon Walker filling in as temporary bassist, the band embarked on their first headlining tour through Europe. All of the dates sold out within hours. Immediately after returning, they did the same in North America. On July 3, Jon Walker became the permanent bassist of Panic! at the Disco.

      In early 2007, Panic! at the Disco began writing their follow up album but, after months of work, decided to rewrite the entire album from scratch in July 2007. While speaking to MTV, Ryan Ross explained that, before the decision to start over was made, the album had lacked a band set up and that it "sounded like a film score." He also explained that the new songs have "a more positive outlook to them." On January 9, the exclamation point (!) in the band's name was dropped. They defended the decision to drop the exclamation point during an interview with MTV: "It was never part of the name to us. (…) When we started doing new promo stuff for this album, we just told everyone not to use it anymore." Panic (sans "!") later confirmed that the second album was titled Pretty. Odd. with a release date of March 25, 2008.

      On July 6th, 2009, an announcement was put up on the band's official website and myspace page, stating that Ryan Ross and Jon Walker would be leaving the band to pursue their own musical interests. They have since formed the band The Young Veins.

      Brendon Urie and Spencer Smith, however, will stay and continue playing as Panic! at the Disco, with the exclamation point re-added. Fans can hear a snippet of Panic!'s demo entitled "Oh Glory" on the band's official website.

      Since the split, Panic! at the Disco joined Fall Out Boy, Blink-182, and Chester French on the first half of Blink-182's summer tour in 2009. They brought along Ian Crawford formerly of The Cab and Dallon Weekes of The Brobecks to temporarily replace Ross and Walker. The band also released a single titled New Perspective which was featured on the Jennifer's Body Soundtrack in August 2009.

      "New Perspective" was released on July 28, 2009. Former The Cab member Ian Crawford filled in for Ross on their tour during the summer of 2009. Dallon Weekes, singer/songwriter of the indie band The Brobecks, filled in for Walker on bass on the tour as well.

      The band re-entered the studio during early 2010 and spent much of the year recording their third studio album. On January 18, 2011, the band revealed that their new album, Vices & Virtues, would officially be released on March 22, 2011. The album was produced by Butch Walker and John Feldmann. The record's first single, "The Ballad of Mona Lisa", was released digitally on February 1, 2011, with the music video being released February 8, 2011. The band played 2 new, unheard songs "Nearly Witches (Ever Since We Met…)" and "Let's Kill Tonight" at recent concerts. On March 9, 2011, Panic! at The Disco released a short film titled "The Overture" which featured snippets of four, unheard songs: "Let's Kill Tonight", "Hurricane", "Ready to Go (Get Me Out of My Mind)", and "Nearly Witches (Ever Since We Met…)". On March 14, 2011, Panic! at The Disco streamed the full Vices & Virtues album on their Facebook page.

      Panic! at the Disco 0e6d61a4ea76735d399daf5d380e43d8 Panic! at the Disco 10efe8f7120c1741794cd4f5d725e417 Panic! at the Disco e3ebe0d45cc60e2d549b87bfd3f34224 Panic! at the Disco 3b13095377d061e8d43a1aaac701ebc3 Panic! at the Disco 63f14eb60d3c7471158a261b37965306 Panic! at the Disco cd80e748a008f60028f0673ee6a3e26c Panic! at the Disco fc548d49b1220cad8f318bbbc8785fda Panic! at the Disco ddc3fbc6ffabc87726526a332cd9c766 Panic! at the Disco 49bd74f1c9d49b59ec023714764a92cd Panic! at the Disco efb87e2131a128202a290e2e028e82b6 Panic! at the Disco c5204b369642d2d6e6d50aafe76023ba Panic! at the Disco 8c218b8da4c950910ea434610d4c143a Panic! at the Disco 11be22fe30ca9be9df90f49ad656c69f Panic! at the Disco 7c2d0effdf0363c7beeeb190f9aad295 Panic! at the Disco c0411ddbe19feae6eb707bb2b033d727 Panic! at the Disco 8952a549c6eb83f6fe271c286fec57ce Panic! at the Disco a601114ee10a864a07915c6bdef7a461 Panic! at the Disco 3332cc889257d90f6400820c50778937 Panic! at the Disco 4bb42fbe7a2b316eaf74e42f1477ee2f Panic! at the Disco b3b46a3c372569a89e0677da3a67a012 Panic! at the Disco 418810d1ae8027e687fe1404a9aca390 Panic! at the Disco 263f375535c60eb10f5fff63f6a7c01a Panic! at the Disco 52b3573561d71eedbac83a5c93c38acb Panic! at the Disco 768f2bd983c120df441d65b8665ae68a Panic! at the Disco 96c8d8734f4aea5f071913b40a988624 Panic! at the Disco 27823caa138085617e9329e2598ae116 Panic! at the Disco ac94240568bf67c53097d2cc79248426 Panic! at the Disco 44ba78814fabdd76f6edeaa8821f1096 Panic! at the Disco 9fd71ffc5fa0a33cae2a65a63bee99f2 Panic! at the Disco 5c43d1235d4f6c79d0e137fd15cdea95 Panic! at the Disco 2f1c778bcbfe4c36af6fef293f17670b Panic! at the Disco 26613b8c199947b9a6b2d89f8ca73ce1 Panic! at the Disco 149b31b3326b49ccab64e252c78eca72 Panic! at the Disco d5775ffc7f52061b41801f5f510c448d Panic! at the Disco 1efcbd992e9c68aaa7b629e771c6d2e2 Panic! at the Disco a3dddf3e4b979fcc6b8d2f46bc6e1b21 Panic! at the Disco 396e14f620974a0087353245a0bd38e7 Panic! at the Disco 7cd9f63649dd1360e00c85c545c2d238 Panic! at the Disco a0742fc7d601deb3bbc26b93b626c885 Panic! at the Disco 37cf2a6dcf90475d8c8945659c84eadd