You need flash!
no cover -  


indie indie rock rock alternative seen live

    OK Go is an American indie rock band which formed in Chicago, Illinois, United States in 1998. The band consists of Damian Kulash (guitar, vocals), Tim Nordwind (bass), Andy Ross (guitar, keyboards), and Dan Konopka (drums). The band is best known for their singles "Get Over It", "A Million Ways", "Here It Goes Again" and "This Too Shall Pass" and for their high concept, low budget, one-shot music videos.

    They play music, with influences such as Cheap Trick, T Rex and Queen. They share management with They Might Be Giants, with whom they toured before signing to Capitol Records. They served as the house band to the public radio program This American Life on the show's fifth anniversary tour. Ira Glass, the show's host, wrote their first official bio, calling them "living catnip" and describing their songs as "part indie rock, part stadium rock, part straight up pop with the occasional whiff of The Pixies or The Cars or Elliott Smith."

    In the United Kingdom, "Get Over It", from their self-titled debut album, appeared at No. 21 in the singles chart on March 16, 2003, and the band performed it on that week's edition of Top of the Pops. Also that week, the single's video was named video of the week by Q Magazine. The single was also featured in EA Sports video games Triple Play Baseball and Madden NFL 2003 in 2002.

    The band contributed a cover of "This Will Be Our Year," the Zombies classic, as the lead track of Future Soundtrack for America, a political benefit album put out by Barsuk Records in the fall of 2004. Lead singer Damian Kulash also became somewhat politically active during that election cycle, writing a heavily downloaded how-to-guide entitled "How Your Band Can Fire Bush" for bands hoping to help unseat President George W. Bush, which garnered him an avalanche of hate mail.

    The band's second record, "Oh No", was recorded in Malmö, Sweden and produced by Tore Johansson (The Cardigans, Franz Ferdinand) in the fall of 2004. Released in August 2005, it gained notoriety for its first single, the Clash-esque "A Million Ways." Its popularity was due in large part to its video, which proved to be a viral internet sensation in the fall of 2005. The ultra-low budget, one-take video featured the band in their back yard performing a dance choreographed by lead singer Kulash's sister, Trish Sie. Using a camera borrowed from a friend, the video was produced for under ten dollars and released without the knowledge or consent of their label, Capitol Records. By November 2005, the video had become the most downloaded music video ever with over 3 million downloads. It also spawned hundreds of tribute performances by amateur dancers around the world, a phenomenon that was encouraged by the group, which sponsored a dance contest, "OK Go Dances with You(Tube)", in which contestants were asked to upload videos of themselves doing the 'million ways dance' to YouTube, which would subsequently be judged, with the winning group of dancers to appear on stage with the band at a future OK Go performance.

    The nontraditional video for "A Million Ways" is not without precedent for the band. Previous oddball video efforts featuring OK Go include their Ping Pong Instructional Video and the Federal Truth In Music Project.

    Their next video featured the band dancing on treadmills to the single "Here It Goes Again" from the "Oh No" Album. This video was produced in a similar style to "A Million Ways", and also choreographed by singer/songwriter Damian Kulash's sister, Trish Sie. As with the previous music video for "A Million Ways", "Here It Goes Again" was also recorded as one continuous unedited take, although it required 7 days of rehearsal, and was the best (take 14) of 17 attempts. The amateur and yet brilliantly original 'treadmill video' sparked an even greater viral internet phenomenon than the AMW video, and was subsequently viewed on YouTube and elsewhere online well over 15 million times. On February 11, 2007, the "Here It Goes Again" music video earned the band members of OK Go and Trish Sie the Grammy Award for Best Short Form Music Video.

    OK Go toured North America with Silversun Pickups and Snow Patrol in 2007.

    OK Go 6aded0ec046a4f31b58b8890d5241ca4 OK Go 494a255360964f5e8abf0a50017f30aa OK Go 16eff5d8e64940d194ac05d848b7b2e8 OK Go 27fb863201184a1ba79ea88d90ee2591 OK Go d135d0cf7a8e40b9a00f5fa9f96f2012 OK Go e5a4a0acfdc948c28e544c6d6d39493a OK Go 54d31aaf844c4589aec7522423f8eead OK Go 3b2d5c82bc0f46dba1389446766c5508 OK Go 1e8afb05ff2f4b04a53d95874c6ef58f OK Go 79e7c92b60344cd09890cadab49c35a9 OK Go d6ebe83c19474f07be3ceb7ea023124f OK Go 3b3bcd28057d4f3799c2d72eee8313af OK Go 3fd9bfb0508149a3b7e2d4d328f16565 OK Go 77aa68767a07471299bf16d9dc28f1c1 OK Go fbca2094648646d999aff466b3793921 OK Go a9f62dc25bff4f0f890c14960ff8fc2d OK Go e586482e1d70472aaaeddaf9c50c4a94 OK Go d31fb90893bb4617b8597a3dc1dfbf77 OK Go 6b2f437e397646b0a7e04c6eae5ca610 OK Go 2eab878f067f44dda50efce09d7072f8 OK Go 9c35d9f8225547b99d0e0646d7cad8d5 OK Go 41d75443e965470fb74f09894524d298 OK Go c6eae9ea7dfe44c693bcf3bef28e2de0 OK Go 3dd11f9393fb4e05acc24f0be95a7592 OK Go 372010eecfea4dcda31a85488999fdc4 OK Go ab8ba49c361847a2837ea6c4044f1cd7 OK Go 55e22724f9bd4922b433c4d793215075 OK Go c32257d5ddd24b16b148ae0ffd147491 OK Go e858c6ee41b94785920d20639a32332c OK Go 20860cf2b0c647c9b5bffa89a2f23638 OK Go c9392a19c04c4f06b45bc65e32b39f6f OK Go 11af65c3e6214a1ca54f8dc81397a8a6 OK Go ad4b71045ba44bebb15229dcfe594841 OK Go 98bf9c43c0424302aa7c2ad5d433c2dc OK Go e49e8b743f464915a1c0e08eb7c768ad OK Go 8281e920facd490ab2b772234d93ee51 OK Go 0baccb0eb780468185887daf241d514d OK Go 420e8475770b49a5a6f2e32a08c41e1f OK Go 1035b4e648134fe6986d0105000f5e77 OK Go 1f0edc0d42384964a23a7aff2b91f237