You need flash!
no cover -  

Mott the Hoople

glam rock classic rock rock 70s hard rock

Mott the Hoople were a British rock band that was formed in 1968 in Herefordshire, England, near the Welsh border. They were led by Ian Hunter until his departure in 1974. The band itself broke up in 1976. The group is best known for the international hit single "All the Young Dudes", written by David Bowie and featured in films such as 'Clueless' and 'Juno'. The band's name came from a novel, authored by Willard Manus, about a freak-show worker named Norman Mott.

Mott the Hoople formed when Silence, a not-too-successful group from the Welsh borders, was joined by session pianist and rock and roll hopeful Ian Hunter along with musicians Mick Ralphs, Verden Allen, Pete Overend Watts, and Dale Griffin . They developed from Dylan obsessives to their own character over the course of four albums for Island. They were a very popular live act but only achieved brief commercial success.

In 1971, the band was close to splitting up but continued to record track "All the Young Dudes", a song written for them by up and coming pop star and fan David Bowie. Three more albums and several pop hits later, the group fell apart after Ian Hunter left in 1974. The remaining members mutated into Mott, an 'also-ran' band which released two albums before disbanding in 1976. Original guitarist Ralphs had a massive boost in his fortunes as a member of rockers Bad Company.

Griffin died in his sleep on 17 January 2016 at the age of 67 and Watts died, almost exactly a year later, on 22 January 2017, from throat cancer.

Mott the Hoople 7b80461623104479b28dbb59c52693f4 Mott the Hoople a09e81be48724b789bb495a90ef49970 Mott the Hoople 6dc3cb33d4fe4625bd39ca91b81d0e6f Mott the Hoople 5eaf78e5eaa6467cc68bb819f2206ca6 Mott the Hoople b54f3f9759c84cf1b494fc99748865fa Mott the Hoople 47df9ef87ce74bb68c6d7468f8a2837d Mott the Hoople ecafb98f6fc047a4b42a2105b19384ae Mott the Hoople f1fd2a6c47be4d55a2d7451684064396 Mott the Hoople e68888b7b0d14ba6a4d4b1b6eb062ad8 Mott the Hoople e41a4958930c44bcba581cd229940591 Mott the Hoople 0d80fd2e08804f219a017b9de8160325 Mott the Hoople 1f0eb084c1ad4e7aaa6133a5e8e0fd66 Mott the Hoople 46fdc3158b474adab3ec45f1785a9108 Mott the Hoople f650676e62af43fdaf52d4fda0e30a88 Mott the Hoople b84151c26fc54f19b0d42e42b0d76b6d Mott the Hoople 92fdd50f14f746daa0cf36c39ffd29dd Mott the Hoople 5b80334fed75424ba0ceb674f4799bd3 Mott the Hoople c015cb55750c4fbd9ab7c2e5f06130ad Mott the Hoople 2ee280905d444f5799a4a697f7243e40 Mott the Hoople 0343252013194a18a6db478e486fdff8