You need flash!
no cover -  

Modest Mouse

indie indie rock alternative rock seen live

    Modest Mouse is an band which formed in 1993 in Issaquah, Washington, United States. The band's original lineup consisted of guitarist Isaac Brock, drummer Jeremiah Green and bassist Eric Judy. Since being signed to Sony's Epic Records in 2000, Modest Mouse has attained significant popular success with songs such as "Float On" and "Dashboard."

    The band's current configuration is Isaac Brock (vocals, guitar), Tom Peloso (strings, horns, bass, keyboards), Jim Fairchild (guitar), Eric Judy (bass), Jeremiah Green (drums) and Joe Plummer (drums). Plummer has recently become the new drummer for The Shins.

    Brock came up with the name "Modest Mouse" when he read the Virginia Woolf stream of consciousness essay The Mark On the Wall in which the author described the working middle class as "modest mouse-coloured people"

    Brock frequently moved around with his mother when he was a child. Around this time, his mother left his father for his father's brother (Brock's uncle). Brock's mother's house flooded and forced them to move into his mother's new husband's trailer, but there was no room for Brock. Brock stayed behind, living in the second story of the flooded house, until he was eventually evicted by police. He then moved into a shed next to his mother's house and it is said this is where Brock, drummer Jeremiah Green and bassist Eric Judy first began playing music.

    In 1994, the band recorded their debut EP, Blue Cadet-3, Do You Connect?, at Calvin Johnson's Dub Narcotic Studios, which was then released on Calvin's record label K Records. Then followed a single with Sub Pop that was recorded by producer Steve Wold at Moon Studios. Wold, who in the mid-2000's would begin to perform under the name Seasick Steve, would also perform on the band's albums, but was never an official member of the band. After moving to Up Records Modest Mouse put out several releases recorded at Moon Studios, including 1996's This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About. This double LP was produced and recorded by Steve Wold. The next offering on UP was Interstate 8; also produced by Steve Wold. 1997's The Lonesome Crowded West, (also recorded at Moon Studios, by Scott Swayze) turned out to be the band's breakthrough album. The Lonesome Crowded West gained the band a cult following and is now widely considered by many critics to be one of the defining albums of mid- indie rock.

    In 2000, Modest Mouse released The Moon And Antarctica, their first album on a major label (Epic Records). The band enjoyed some success on radio with the singles "3rd Planet" and "Gravity Rides Everything." Lead singer Isaac Brock has since put out an album with his side project Ugly Casanova on Sub Pop Records.

    In 2003, drummer Jeremiah Green quit the band; the official word was that he was quitting to work with his side project, Vells. He was replaced with two members, drummer Benjamin Weikel (who also drummed for The Helio Sequence) and guitarist Dann Gallucci (Murder City Devils). Weikel being new to the band and Gallucci returning to the band for the first time since This is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About. On April 6, 2004, Modest Mouse released the platinum-selling Good News For People Who Love Bad News, which scored two hits with "Float On" and "Ocean Breathes Salty". In 2004 Jeremiah Green returned to the band, and Benjamin Weikel now drums exclusively for The Helio Sequence. Dann Gallucci left the band in August, and they toured with Hutch Harris of The Thermals during the fall of 2004.

    Modest Mouse was mentioned by name in the 2005 Supreme Court decision in the case of MGM v. Grokster. Justice Souter wrote that on the Grokster P2P network, "Users seeking Top 40 songs, for example, or the latest release by Modest Mouse, are certain to be far more numerous than those seeking a free Decameron, and Grokster and StreamCast translated that demand into dollars."

    In 2005, multi-instrumentalist Tom Peloso, who already played various instruments on Good News For People Who Love Bad News, officially joined the band. In 2006, Johnny Marr, former guitarist for The Smiths, became an official member of the band.

    On March 20, 2007, the band released their fifth album, We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank. Four singles were released from the album: "Dashboard", "Missed the Boat", "We've Got Everything" and "Little Motel". The album debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 album chart. James Mercer of The Shins provides backing vocals on three songs.

    In 2009, they released No One's First And You're Next, an EP of unreleased songs from around the time Good News and We Were Dead were recorded, and two songs that had already been released, "I've Got It All (Most)" and "King Rat". The video for King Rat was directed by late actor Heath Ledger.

    In 2009, Johnny Marr left the band and was replaced by Jim Fairchild, formerly of Grandaddy. The band performed at several festivals throughout 2009 and 2010, including the main stage of the Reading and Leeds Festivals in 2010.

    After an 8 year wait, the band's latest full-length is "Strangers To Ourselves", released March 17th, 2015- two weeks after the original release date, March 3rd, 2015. The album art is an aerial photo of an RV resort located in Mesa, Arizona. Five singles were released before the album, "Lampshades on Fire", "Coyotes", "The Ground Walks, with Time in a Box", "The Best Room", and "Of Course we Know".

    Modest Mouse 44f6ea4b06274238bbae9db1cab9c2bf Modest Mouse d36084754b7a4b4e96a3f38e64ad6136 Modest Mouse be4a086c77144b4bb53b9caa8bba62ef Modest Mouse 97f48788e4e34147a45d77b818bf8f49 Modest Mouse fa1eb27be6c2475d905a989423d83789 Modest Mouse ed2c38bd454e48f09d0b5c27c14752ac Modest Mouse 12a07c3bc1344255bb86389229e58371 Modest Mouse 4b0a806ad4ee4059a5f16029bccdd38a Modest Mouse f2d4b45263424454a87f4c2a3dd4f0a7 Modest Mouse f2153261ba8d6cdecfceb62a875205a3 Modest Mouse 2d7619337dad4cc8a55ee721ec417257 Modest Mouse 96e9bc12f02446078d54433c1ee87a62 Modest Mouse 92a0714b03ef4c97a4a5efc9dd7d7b5f Modest Mouse ce444c2649c54518a02c957e601b5d4b Modest Mouse 9724a8cbfdaf4e7dce31e9f66dba8ec6 Modest Mouse ead6dc59b17d42c5b9e35e187924c690 Modest Mouse 06f2f084fe5a457b904c3104b22e663f Modest Mouse 0321e6d214944580807ad6f13b686029 Modest Mouse 85b6dc56e90b46b2bebe32651675b711 Modest Mouse 86fce6fa87b0414bb05bb9c80cb5d670 Modest Mouse 1037722987f7af73456619dd11cf2273 Modest Mouse 2302610f2b6264f13163dcfccd64693b Modest Mouse 1bb2a467e9414b979e96b2c73194d423 Modest Mouse 4d0f67aae15b40aeb4491f28cae8abed Modest Mouse 7bc62e7823ab40c69e806d93b72063f5 Modest Mouse 9a72b270255e4ab189103fdb8a03197e Modest Mouse f4e014188f9b47a08e0a28975d9eacaa Modest Mouse 94c04faf70a34232939bee7be2351ff0 Modest Mouse 20bfbff9e0434c8d87828ef35e1e71cf Modest Mouse 15837417573b4fca906c53a5cddae904 Modest Mouse 6876512773fd4bbeb794ce7db198645e Modest Mouse 6c93f75c501640bab35c9ae4e40a5299 Modest Mouse 037cfdeac9874ca99cb76d6f472730c0 Modest Mouse 2ddd9398bdf34087869054b6420607d9 Modest Mouse 49914abb4abf42539bf016ec8a571fa0 Modest Mouse b1c2c8160a704084afdfaabf4a2e1aa3 Modest Mouse c9ff7abbb76b4945ab6d7448b89fc7db Modest Mouse a645cb52f56ed3743344404d711bcf8c Modest Mouse df04840491ab457181345ff68f821793 Modest Mouse b21241610d5c49ee96c57cbebe480cd6