You need flash!
no cover -  

Matchbox Twenty

rock alternative rock alternative 90s pop

    Matchbox Twenty, originally Matchbox 20 and typeset as matchbox twenty on most official merchandise, is a rock band formed in Orlando, Florida, who have sold in excess of 39 million albums worldwide. The band have been well received in many countries.

    The current members of the band are Rob Thomas (vocals, piano), Paul Doucette (drums, now guitar), Kyle Cook (lead guitar, vocals) and Brian Yale (bass). Adam Gaynor (rhythm guitar), who has left the band, performed on their first three albums, as well. Rob Thomas is the principal songwriter and lead singer.

    Thomas, Yale and Doucette performed in the band Tabitha's Secret out of Orlando, Florida before splitting apart to form Matchbox Twenty with Cook and Gaynor.

    Matchbox Twenty released their first album, Yourself or Someone Like You in 1996. While their first single, "Long Day", was a rock radio-only smash, the album soon spun off several Top 40 hit singles throughout 1997 and 1998, including "Push", "3 A.M.", "Real World" and "Back 2 Good". The album eventually went on to sell over 12 million copies in the U.S. alone, earning diamond status. The band toured relentlessly for several years, performing the songs from their one and only album, along with some beloved cover songs such as Cyndi Lauper's "Time After Time" and The Beatles' "Don't Let Me Down". Their fan base grew from concert to concert because of their electrifying live performances and the longevity of their hit singles on radio. The same year, Matchbox Twenty recorded a live version of their Top-40 hit "3 A.M." for release on the charity album Live in the X Lounge, benefiting cerebral palsy research.

    Before recording their second album, Rob Thomas collaborated with Itaal Shur on a song entitled "Smooth" for Carlos Santana's comeback album, Supernatural. The song had a pop-tinged Latin beat and showcased Thomas' lyrical talents. Thomas was supposed to act solely as songwriter on "Smooth", but Carlos Santana had him sing on it as well after hearing the song's demo recording. "Smooth", was the album's lead single and became a gigantic hit in 1999; Thomas earned three Grammys for writing and performing on "Smooth", including Record of the Year and Song of the Year.

    In 2000, Matchbox 20 renamed themselves Matchbox Twenty and released their second album, Mad Season. The album featured lush instrumental arrangements and spun off several hit singles, including "Bent" (Number One on Hot 100) and "If You're Gone". The video for "Bent", poked fun of singer Thomas' heightened profile from "Smooth" by showing the other band members assaulting him mercilessly. The evocatively arranged ballad "If You're Gone" became a big hit, especially on adult contemporary formats. The band's next two singles, "Mad Season" and "Last Beautiful Girl" were not particularly successful. Fans also note hearing "Black & White People" receive radio play, despite not being released as a single.

    For their third album, More Than You Think You Are, the band returned to a harder rock sound. Thomas shared the songwriting efforts with the other band members on several songs. The album spun off hit singles "Disease", "Unwell", and "Bright Lights".

    In May 2004, the band released a live concert DVD, Show: A Night in the Life of Matchbox Twenty, filmed in Atlanta and featuring 20 songs, including all of their hit singles.

    In February 2005, rhythm guitarist Gaynor officially left the group, which had been on hiatus to allow other members to pursue side projects. Rob Thomas went on to release a solo album entitled ...Something To Be which became the U.S. Billboard 200 #1 album the first week of its release. The album featured four hit singles: "Lonely No More", "This is How a Heart Breaks", "Ever the Same" and "Streetcorner Symphony".

    In January 2007, Rob Thomas released a single entitled "Little Wonders" which he wrote for the Disney movie Meet the Robinsons.

    Their "Exile On Mainstream" album was released on October 2, 2007 as a two disc set. The first disc featured 6 new songs, including the hit "How Far We've Come", which could be heard on the accompanying website, along with the music video. The second disc contained 11 of their greatest hits, such as "Push", "Bent" and "Unwell".

    The She’s So Mean Songfacts reports that Matchbox Twenty's fourth studio album North is the first record of new material that the band has released for ten years, although they did record seven new songs for their 2007 compilation album Exile On Mainstream. The album was released on September 4, 2012.

    Matchbox Twenty 46fe74854c5243959f0e39c3e6b5666e Matchbox Twenty 71b9346ea7f5440aa1b44dbc31412b14 Matchbox Twenty 6d116da39be84ff78b0a6e7a46df04a5 Matchbox Twenty 2271a8379ead4490bf3cc976f0f45762 Matchbox Twenty afe1dd13d685416a8c3405999302fe23 Matchbox Twenty 84edf9145ab3472c938193cb11d730dd Matchbox Twenty d76aa1c4a49f4e0b911caa6c09640570 Matchbox Twenty b366e5d3ad8641d180dfdee17b9b27c7 Matchbox Twenty ce5d64ad10534a7ea175a0f5daedf234 Matchbox Twenty ad17b687e63f4cd09980a28b161f9c37 Matchbox Twenty 9e61c13ec12e43469bd866b90fb57b7f Matchbox Twenty 485972f011244175906d85d912dc2313 Matchbox Twenty e55785790930474b8f107c4fceca212d Matchbox Twenty fe0677b68d6c45799e30bb6c6eb251e0 Matchbox Twenty fc7634eb430b48d28882f28f2f451a87 Matchbox Twenty 134f17f6fde04314b177b8c2e5d5eb05 Matchbox Twenty 04ad7da86e394e1e9689192003639834 Matchbox Twenty 431c6e16a72549fc8c5874c38ee6d776 Matchbox Twenty 1a4b2b0e05b24623aefaa128c92f8822 Matchbox Twenty 1181a13e37904a2eb45d0e3af68d8691 Matchbox Twenty c022015d274f4338917656a4d84f3c33 Matchbox Twenty 8c904d1a5788483c9b5ae9a44e0cee4f Matchbox Twenty 55078a8f21064c40afe97b0d4330af3c Matchbox Twenty 76e2bb6174984f1185dd6647afd9c4cd Matchbox Twenty e241b8cc07e94f99b173020ff61a8f9d Matchbox Twenty df9754d94fcc489dbcb8469b218ebe10 Matchbox Twenty e6f3c45ee253466d939f2c0b9a258e78 Matchbox Twenty c1b9c8a5355e4411b3ddc6e2200a425d Matchbox Twenty d8dcf40dfcaf45b99f63b6d803a8c8b7 Matchbox Twenty c476ebf75541437d96993f82b362c072 Matchbox Twenty b23af45b86b0454c9181b3ac35077d3b Matchbox Twenty 3bb3d60cf2f84245a3f7905697883224 Matchbox Twenty c8efd249effb46fc849732857b52962f Matchbox Twenty 3270facfffee4ba5bba5519c17353df4 Matchbox Twenty 8a2b19e5032a463c86cc501f9e07cbf6 Matchbox Twenty 14c4bf0f8a29403c8b8ee71c34efe888 Matchbox Twenty 8df971f51dd940f5a7b26c95b9ba9041