You need flash!
no cover -  


electronic shoegaze post-rock indie electronica

    M83 is the and music project of the French artist Anthony Gonzalez. He and former member Nicolas Fromageau founded the group in 2001 in Antibes, France. M83's style owes a lot to the genre, in that there is much emphasis on tonality, extensive use of reverb effects and often softly-spoken lyrics at times submerged in instrumentation. M83 was named after the spiral galaxy "Messier 83".

    M83 has released the following albums: M83 in 2001, Dead Cities, Red Seas & Lost Ghosts in 2003, Before the Dawn Heals Us in 2005, Digital Shades Vol. 1 in 2007, Saturdays = Youth in 2008, Hurry Up, We're Dreaming in 2011, Oblivion, You and the Night in 2013 and Junk in 2016.

    For the third album released by M83, Before the Dawn Heals Us, Gonzalez decided to part from Fromageau (after an emotionally distressing tour for Dead Cities). Currently Anthony Gonzalez records mainly on his own (Nicolas Fromageau started Team Ghost in 2009), often with the help of his brother Yann Gonzalez, vocalist/keyboardist Morgan Kibby, guitarist/bassist Pierre-Marie Maulini, and drummer Loïc Maurin.

    M83 produced the remix of the track "Pioneers" on the British group Bloc Party's 2005 album Silent Alarm Remixed. M83 also collaborated with other Gooom Disques artists in a collaborative LP, under the name Purple Confusion.

    Just after the Before the Dawn Heals Us US tour, Anthony Gonzalez decided to take M83 in a more ambient direction (as heard on some earlier M83 tracks) and started to write and record a collection of ambient works. The relevance of digital music (from creation to sharing), gave him the idea to call the project Digital Shades Vol. 1, and to make the album part of an ongoing series.

    M83's 2008 album Saturdays = Youth, released on Mute, was recorded with the help of Ken Thomas and Ewan Pearson. Four singles were released from the album: "Couleurs" in February 2008, "Graveyard Girl" in April, "Kim & Jessie" in July, and "We Own the Sky" in December.

    In December 2008, M83 supported Kings of Leon on its UK tour. In January and February 2009, M83 supported The Killers across USA tour dates and toured with Depeche Mode on its Tour of the Universe in Italy, Germany, and France.

    The double album Hurry Up, We're Dreaming was released on 17th October 2011, through Naïve, produced by Justin Meldal-Johnson (Beck, NIN, The Mars Volta, Goldfrapp) and including contributions from Zola Jesus, Brad Laner (from 90's band Medicine) on guitar, and the vocalist Morgan Kibby. The album was preceded by the track "Midnight City" released in July 2011.

    Official site:

    M83 b5e90598d23ceaa5814fcd24e6b4e8d9 M83 f34521fed11744dd96cb63e490a1d7dd M83 b28c7e82fb104bc686ca37cca709564e M83 f896f7c89477409499b8305b9b658c23 M83 abf23202767c4c599a93f89abb3b2239 M83 6ceb065dcdf94c3bd3d9935afcb08a77 M83 9e3f4ad660504c739d7d2b2d5fb09f0c M83 d1ebdb8e332b4fa1a028c7055491b014 M83 b1f9a616331745fc8453973ad1b2de42 M83 e9d2da3a767b40d29010ecf2fe9fd020 M83 e59899346b7a4a94ad665f69d436a479 M83 68433697138440b78c5c816e281b85c2 M83 0174d66381e13fb33c75778676333067 M83 9c57dae3d2428da15839efe70ff43b97 M83 6fd7bcd1ac474fcda45218f6a559f40f M83 16af23fc45b354ca10aa58a1bd694b0e M83 795028113fe29dda40c9605cf4e13d58 M83 81b5cc07d8822d02546cbda7fd9fe61a M83 658fbde6225341a5c1c63e1f79407ab7 M83 0c235fb3b4774eed8b21b65a50ff5d44 M83 b04becc07b679501694a5ea71df1f3e5 M83 c8bf923e8e6148f7a0a9b340f14ad061 M83 6ee56cd34da74bf5ae5f3db57d6fa6a0 M83 4663c43c474374e93434cf1a1be795c2 M83 5e002b21354937e9a0a076845e727af0 M83 a46efcc76d59c245ea94191f5c031aa6 M83 fe11a957d1aa4027963bc6b1f0e3cf37 M83 ecc128249f864fda8c2387ce34cb3178 M83 fcaed0a830c346dc853dd18555632f57 M83 ee9d865bc10a4498a2a743e5274acf59 M83 d9abfa6a79c468d5d6a17f6bcde2caee M83 f319dc072d76a17a283f4e211f51f8bb M83 3208b96f78783b3eafd1030a10c70781 M83 a66de33248f74b6982dbf2dc23fc6c1d M83 2b5f170475594d209ba674fcc6f83517 M83 80abe61e20fb4bbe8320b76c4c331fe5 M83 867a6e14bb2b4489937070e91bdc6095 M83 50a4d2b4d7055a3e72f3ed7fdf0d41a7 M83 84bc7cd304973a4d05ba9c337e3cb1a1 M83 f6c4f1df1390477fc71b58e71645353f