You need flash!
no cover -  


Grunge female vocalists rock alternative alternative rock

    Hole was an American formed by singer and guitarist Courtney Love and lead guitarist Eric Erlandson in Los Angeles, California in 1989. Influenced by Los Angeles' scene, and produced by Kim Gordon of Sonic Youth, the band's debut album, Pretty on the Inside (1991), attracted critical interest from British and American alternative press. Their second album, Live Through This, released 1994 by DGC Records, which featured less aggressive melodies and more restrained lyrical content, was widely acclaimed and reached platinum status within a year of its release. Their third album, Celebrity Skin (1998), which garnered them four Grammy nominations, marked a notable departure from their earlier influences, boasting a more commercially viable, "mature" sound.

    The band had a revolving line-up of bassists and drummers, their most prolific being drummer Patty Schemel, and bassists Kristen Pfaff (d. 1994) and Melissa Auf der Maur. In 2002 the group disbanded to pursue other projects. Eight years later in 2010, Hole was reformed by Love with new members, despite Erlandson's claim that the reformation breached a mutual contract he had with Love. The reformed band released the album Nobody's Daughter (2010), which had originally been conceived as Love's second solo album. In 2013, Love retired the Hole name, releasing new material and touring as a solo artist.

    Hole has been noted for being one of the most commercially successful female-fronted rock bands of all time, selling over three million records in the United States alone and having a far-reaching influence on contemporary female artists. Music and feminist scholars have also recognized the band as the most high-profile musical group of the 1990s to discuss gender issues in their songs, due to Love's aggressive and violent lyrical content, which often addressed themes of body image, abuse, and sexual exploitation.

    Hole went on to become the most commercially successful female-fronted grunge band in history, selling over 3 million records in the United States between 1991 and 2010. In spite of Love's often polarizing reputation in the media, Hole received consistent critical praise for their output, and was often noted for the predominant feminist commentary found in Love's lyrics, which scholars have credited as "articulating a third-wave feminist consciousness". Love's subversive onstage persona and public image coincided with the band's songs, which expressed "pain, sorrow, and anger, but underlying message of survival, particularly survival in the face of overwhelming circumstances." Music journalist Maria Raha expressed a similar sentiment in regard to the band's significance to third-wave feminism, stating, "Whether you love Courtney or hate her, Hole was the highest-profile female-fronted band of the '90s to openly and directly sing about feminism."

    While Rolling Stone compared the effect of Love's marriage to Kurt Cobain on the band to that of John Lennon and Yoko Ono, they noted that "Love's confrontational stage presence, as well as her gut-wrenching vocals and powerful punk-pop songcraft, made her an alternative-rock star in her own right." Author Nick Wise made a similar comparison in discussion of the band's public image, stating, "Not since Yoko Ono's marriage to John Lennon has a woman's personal life and exploits within the rock arena been so analyzed and dissected." The band has been cited as a major influence on several contemporary artists, including indie singer songwriter Scout Niblett, Brody Dalle of the Distillers and Spinnerette, Sky Ferreira, Lana Del Rey, Tove Lo, Tegan and Sara, and the British rock band Nine Black Alps. The band ranked at #77 of VH1's 100 Greatest Hard Rock Artists.

    Hole 7a43748f0370e2f35dab06ddcacdc09a Hole a2e679f441344f7d94cd03f96a27be2c Hole f2957d667c1a29f1e4bdf23584e79a17 Hole 36951b6d33501cb622ab70708a9f36a2 Hole 43694eefff674f56b52ba54b4e01405a Hole 661a3957cb3e791853e9c7bf4ac709d7 Hole caafc53a5d336b1683d76cc5778424d3 Hole 7f608da8d37af45a4ffa3a3fbf26ce27 Hole e32d123d8a9b4c99b2055b2b0a715956 Hole 125968b7adc24698ac2b097615b85841 Hole 1bfac1ebcebc4074c06ea617b01ced95 Hole a3bf32d60c0740a49bde4ae8b85563b5 Hole 9e0663b536a049868cd76452a3118063 Hole 0f7bd1a1b8da4a39a8e8685c1a392e8e Hole 42073fff3d3f41e29143e38bd9def72c Hole ead87da57aae46caa4ff97fe5dd86909 Hole f73cbf4068034fe684b8b0d96e5d4789 Hole 1e72518eb04d468fc6e60a1434a6a97d Hole 060e36522f4544038027ff6e6b6b1aa7 Hole 8655c1377a6cbd60c499348dab7a357f Hole cd505283830c6ccf0f360b508928b494 Hole 996ec448d230478799340d0efa504a6e Hole b0f63cd5a85d4ac9a990f734f2fe9082 Hole 992540dfc7cb4ea29079a925be28e35d Hole 80465d63d670414f8d8dc4c7cd5fc351 Hole 9cf6c1c5312e4aef89aa656f4987eedb Hole 7c77fa450d584de0b7447127c135ad8d Hole 7d46233f4b964802a3c84cc103178a03 Hole 35106d7e2cbff493c96c7f5cc91d3cb3 Hole 147dc6b825cd4679813f387987a499ed Hole a9b6a78792ed49888b900c077557048d Hole 2bc4b617aa374731b941638f13752729 Hole 95b10d5e08fb459ca25f844677bfe6f5 Hole e939388cfbbe4337b1f6c98dab3da6f2 Hole e79abe3eaa6e4516aece095e592de8bd Hole f243724d0eb0487fb1e90fb3c3b8a719 Hole 1e41b778ee444cd2a7f06cf3e97352ca Hole a636f90bc3d64a7aaf99b3becd0f44e6 Hole 1b80d31c2b1b49f09fcf2c2b077bae6f Hole 7bb600fafdd641fdbece1c462318f6db