You need flash!
no cover -  

Four Tet

electronic experimental idm electronica instrumental

    Four Tet is the name used by Kieran Hebden (born 1977 in Putney, London, UK) for his music-oriented solo efforts, to differentiate from his work with band Fridge.

    Hebden's solo work typically utilises samples lifted from various sources including , , , , and mixed with his own guitar playing. Four Tet shares some stylistic similarities with other musicians, such as Prefuse 73, who use computer editing techniques that give the music a staccato, cut-up feel. Hebden's music is notable for its rich, organic sounds and harmonious melodies as well as for eschewing the traditional -song format in favour of a more approach.

    Kieran Hebden began releasing material as Four Tet in 1998 with the 36 minute and 25 second single "Thirtysixtwentyfive" on Trevor Jackson's Output Recordings label. Later that year, he released a second single, the jazz-influenced "Misnomer". 1999's "Dialogue", again on Output, was Four Tet's first full-length album release and fused hip-hop drum lines with dissonant jazz samples. This was followed by the double A-side single "Glasshead"/"Calamine", which was to be Four Tet's last release on Output.

    In late 1999, Warp Records released a tenth-anniversary compilation of remixes of Warp tracks; Hebden contributed a remix of "Cliffs", the opening track of Aphex Twin's "Selected Ambient Works, Vol. II". This relatively high profile exposure attracted a lot of new interest in Four Tet from fans of electronica and IDM, genres in which the Warp brand had a preeminent status.

    In 2001, Four Tet's second album "Pause" was released on Domino and found Hebden using more folk and electronic samples, which was quickly dubbed "" by the media & press in an attempt to label the style (often also applied to artists such as Isan, Gravenhurst and some of Canabrism's later work). The acoustic guitar track "Everything Is Alright" is the theme music for the National Public Radio talk show On Point, produced at WBUR in Boston, Massachusetts; it was also featured in a US Nike commercial in 2001-2002 and in the Sony Bravia commercial in 2005.

    "Rounds" was released in May 2003. It was Hebden's most ambitious album to date, incorporating diverse samples such as the mandolin on "Spirit Fingers", and even a rubber duck on the closing track "Slow Jam". Three singles were released from the album: "She Moves She", "As Serious as Your Life", and "My Angel Rocks Back and Forth". This last single was released as an EP featuring remixes by electronica duo Icarus and Isambard Khroustaliov along with additional Four Tet tracks "I've Got Viking in Me" and "All the Chimers". An accompanying DVD featured all of Four Tet's videos to date.

    At the beginning of 2003, Four Tet opened for Radiohead on their European tour. A remix of the song Scatterbrain from Radiohead's latest album "Hail to the Thief" was included on their 2004 EP "COM LAG (2plus2isfive)".

    A live album named "Live in Copenhagen 30th March 2004" was released in April 2004 as a limited edition, available only through the Domino Records website.

    In March and April of 2005, Four Tet performed two shows of improvisational music, in collaboration with jazz drummer Steve Reid, in Paris and London. He also appears on Steve Reid Ensemble 2005 album "Spirit Walk". This collaboration was extended into a series of international tours, and the release of two albums, "The Exchange Session Vol. 1" and "The Exchange Session Vol. 2" over the course of 2005 and 2006.

    His fourth studio album "Everything Ecstatic" was released on Domino on 23 May 2005. The video for the lead single, "Smile Around The Face", features actor Mark Heap. The album brought with it another shift in style, leaving behind the breezy "folktronica" of "Pause" and "Rounds" for a darker, more complex sound. On 7 November 2005, Domino has released a DVD version of "Everything Ecstatic" featuring video clips for each track of the album plus a CD with new material.

    Hebden has also remixed, under the Four Tet name, tracks by a wide range of artists including Madvillain, Bloc Party, Super Furry Animals, Beth Orton, Badly Drawn Boy, The Notwist, Boom Bip, Kings of Convenience, Explosions in the Sky, Radiohead, and Doves.

    Four Tet 5b8f4877ab3e1988d7789b9820925bd9 Four Tet 43203cda58234ea0bcb951489a60dc8f Four Tet f46b13786c06405ab14d3dc13c7f0d8c Four Tet 0f18caad8d284bbda5ef8cffc66cdb67 Four Tet ff8dc0a1b93c4a29b05053421ebba441 Four Tet bb57efd8d232485e991a3990c0fe9465 Four Tet 6ce1042e878847da89f092943aa104a6 Four Tet 00af1119e4ee4351aad257e6b007d939 Four Tet 4981fe48832f4feca34a051a02e037dc Four Tet 08d4d65589b24c69950a5f59ad0dbc70 Four Tet 7aec52e5d8b14b4793f726e872a5e45f Four Tet 9945dd3f835b406a98e76761dcb8a9ac Four Tet 93d45528a15b4d4aab4adfb7358da8b4 Four Tet 30eb814244c04071a5ce4b2441089328 Four Tet b8cd4c256f2d4b3d9a1866e9002c9229 Four Tet 4eb62a05f95d4812835027e3bbc99314 Four Tet bfe5efd106f14e3099a8307a7cbc55bd Four Tet cd8d4905bbc84f81a71d48303f900368 Four Tet 438f7e1993d64f8db4e0a9aad9ec9d7c Four Tet d92f7143b4fe4a0f9dc7e406b4744174 Four Tet a5c784cf22ab4aaa84c2aed948d27b1e Four Tet 5ff82bfff60b4867930b8d881f3da9e4 Four Tet 52a65317d5184883865e1c9e822e2b69 Four Tet a387356e3a9449c7a601d8609c071a6f Four Tet 00a4d82b300d4f98a05758a16e8da5a4 Four Tet e9137acc82694ad88aa5f0b077240ab0 Four Tet f478040de6e947a3bd69d268d53570aa Four Tet 1a63056d99454be6b37f294787a63b9f Four Tet 37608ae6d1b44449a70074544ede93b3 Four Tet 6e6114bd8e764e8dce51ddb0a856b1ef Four Tet e0445339e69844d6ba5eac1d8bac55dd Four Tet 8a089a37b4924ddabeffcc15075de504 Four Tet ba88f741642648ccb5bf3aec981f9b0f Four Tet db12fb84987a4ca8a39d9b42602f06a7 Four Tet 966b1f1776934eebce11c3fc38d28ce4 Four Tet 893a3136ad8444c585bea9e0e0faa727 Four Tet c8ca352386034603a2711ef6c189b1db Four Tet 2b16c043967949e68c4ab028d3fa8e49 Four Tet 0e1297f0d2ca43119fb4ad6ee9862824 Four Tet 6e64925479f048e086b33f895aadb352