You need flash!
no cover -  

Dropkick Murphys

punk punk rock seen live folk punk irish

    Dropkick Murphys are a band formed in Quincy, Massachusetts, United States in 1996. First playing together in the basement of a friend's barbershop, the band made a name for itself because of its relentless touring and for its annual St. Patrick's Day weekend shows in Boston. The band's songs often deal with influences, and the working-class environment in which the band members grew up.

    The band put out a series of EPs and was signed by Rancid frontman Tim Armstrong's label Hellcat Records. In 1998, the Dropkick Murphys released their first full-length album, Do Or Die. Lead singer Mike McColgan, who left the band later that year, was replaced by The Bruisers lead singer Al Barr. In 1999, they released their followup album, The Gang's All Here. In 2001, they released their third album, Sing Loud, Sing Proud. The album showcased the group’s developing sound and included collaborations with The Pogues' frontman Shane MacGowan and Cock Sparrer's Colin McFaull. It also marked a significant lineup change for the band. Original guitarist Rick Barton was replaced by former The Ducky Boys' guitarists James Lynch and Marc Orrell; instruments were added and played by new members Ryan Foltz and Spicy McHaggis.

    The Dropkick Murphys' next album, Blackout, was released in 2003. The new album included the radio hit "Walk Away," as well as the songs "Fields of Athenry" and "The Dirty Glass." The latter features female vocals by Stephanie Dougherty (Deadly Sins). Around the same time, the band released a re-working of the Boston Red Sox anthem "Tessie," which then became the official song of the team's 2004 World Series run. "Tessie" was also used throughout the major motion picture Fever Pitch and was included on the EA Sports MVP Baseball 2005 soundtrack. In 2005, the Dropkick Murphys released Singles Collection Volume 2, featuring covers, B-sides, and other material that didn't make it onto previous albums, and the band contributed a recording of "We Got the Power" to Rock Against Bush, Volume 2.

    The Dropkick Murphys' fifth studio album, The Warrior's Code, was released on June 21, 2005. It features the singles "Sunshine Highway," "The Walking Dead," "The Warrior's Code," as well as the bonus track "Tessie." It also includes a song that was inspired by a Woody Guthrie poem, which the group named "I'm Shipping Up to Boston." The song was featured in Martin Scorsese's 2006 film The Departed. Scorsese mentioned the band in an interview after winning his first Oscar.

    The Dropkick Murphys released their sixth studio album, The Meanest of Times, on September 18, 2007. It was their first release not on the Hellcat Records label but instead on the label Born & Bred.

    In early 2008, Marc Orrell left the band. Thereupon Tim Brennan, who had been playing mandolin, accordion, banjo, tin whistle, and guitar for the band since 2004, replaced Orrell on lead guitar. Tim's previous musical duties were taken over by Jeff DaRosa, former member of The Vigilante and Pinkerton Thugs.

    Dropkick Murphys 6af8ab6ee19a4df7b3993596e7112762 Dropkick Murphys 6a9b27f599e5845c18c7bebed2d52465 Dropkick Murphys a0ca0e51ad644aeb8dff4475c7bd332d Dropkick Murphys 1d5f50ba777f422f89c19404ace2d602 Dropkick Murphys 7828aaab985741d68db73fec2ec021f8 Dropkick Murphys 45815dd34b9d4c5f9c9e78531b40d81d Dropkick Murphys 3ab3c53ad3fb4e888e83ca5395f13b4d Dropkick Murphys 774c6bb8646341d28cd7094254bcc5b7 Dropkick Murphys 4d6d172f776940afa12aa9e14bb4ee12 Dropkick Murphys ad78abd6abb342cb9a830437e4a4d174 Dropkick Murphys 02f8a238239d40169bbea8e1f4c2d833 Dropkick Murphys 5911354d8ab0400fbd799745bbf80911 Dropkick Murphys 731d54390feb425392b92fdc685948e2 Dropkick Murphys d659127585cb471f97c6660377b61c36 Dropkick Murphys d08fe1a950de4f6599fd950b9eb3a589 Dropkick Murphys 8af0ee508806431389b14bcdc86bb614 Dropkick Murphys da7ef0feb95b4e19a415ce184b8110c1 Dropkick Murphys cc8e017c0d4f4ae78ac6ca5bc3d4ad62 Dropkick Murphys bc2b5ae919234d3babfdd7b39e2fbc74 Dropkick Murphys c590773f73554c09bc34276cc365c661 Dropkick Murphys 58323d290aba45c7b302c13ec17df190 Dropkick Murphys dee858e937ca4a9ea8c86462f17b1449 Dropkick Murphys 80fbcb95876e48eb8ed414137be3e371 Dropkick Murphys 557eac601f51473690a2cbb2501b685d Dropkick Murphys c0cb1bfb6bc840dea410bc3c65fea432 Dropkick Murphys f36bb5b4a23d402cad4e4713afd20ffa Dropkick Murphys 20bff24a434d4465813327da949a9f12 Dropkick Murphys 278786349efd4d84af12a8b2fbdb53c0 Dropkick Murphys 48774b52917349b2bda4c20ff5185ae0 Dropkick Murphys ee9ee5bc26c54957ae87d1115b94513d Dropkick Murphys 2bf2627b73ac49a1923c45c178e00f80 Dropkick Murphys 854ede7fb934424382ff86727ae23c51 Dropkick Murphys 65afcce4e28348ea9f8a89d3a1b45fdb Dropkick Murphys 8431113bc1b443e48abbcc9054841a3d Dropkick Murphys 7fdeb990bc7b4e34af5cdc9a37b7a33f Dropkick Murphys 6d238b2416da42999071e4c6cf6764b2 Dropkick Murphys 344ec36ab43d4e6095a38b3676d7e117 Dropkick Murphys cf996293ea124818a07477a3373fd3db