You need flash!
no cover -  

Dirty Three

post-rock instrumental australian indie seen live

Dirty Three is an Australian instrumental rock band, consisting of Warren Ellis (violin and bass guitar), Mick Turner (electric and bass guitars) and Jim White (drums). They formed in Melbourne, Australia in 1992.

During their career the group have spent much of their time overseas, when not performing together Turner is based in Melbourne, White lives in New York, and Ellis in Paris.

The trio released their debut 'Sad & Dangerous', and eponymous album in 1995, albums representative of a trio finding their sound, their experimentality and more raucous side of their music. The albums that followed- 'Horse Stories', 1997, 'Ocean Songs', 1998 and 'Whatever You Love, You Are', 2000, 'She Has No Strings Apollo', 2003, offered definitive moments of the trio's career. 'Cinder', released in 2005, essentially continued musical traits developed in their previous albums, and although it continues in the spirit of 'Ocean Songs', 'Cinder' differs and diverges from their previous works in that it includes new instruments and, for the first time in their career, lyrics. The arrangements are generally shorter and more concise than those on their earlier albums. Perhaps most notably, instead of the usual recording live technique, they opted for the first time in their career to record in the studio individually.

The band featured in the 2006 film chronicling the Meredith Music Festival, outside Melbourne. In 2007, a documentary of the Dirty Three, simply called, The Dirty Three was released, and was screened at the Melbourne International Film Festival. The band also featured in the 2009 documentary film, All Tomorrow's Parties, chronicling APT since the inaugural festival ten years ago.

The Dirty Three have toured with Nick Cave, Sonic Youth, Low, Pavement, Throwing Muses, Cat Power, PJ Harvey, Bonnie 'Prince' Billy, John Cale, Morphine, Devendra Banhart, Josh T. Pearson, and Shannon Wright, and many others.

Warren Ellis is also a member of the group Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds and releases solo material. Mick Turner has also released solo albums, and has worked together Jim White to release under the name Tren Brothers. The pair have also worked on recordings by Cat Power and Will Oldham, as session musicians, and as backing musicians on tours. Mick Turner is also an internationally exhibited painter with his own work gracing the covers of all of their major albums except Sad & Dangerous. He also runs the band's own record label Anchor & Hope. In 1999, Dirty Three collaborated with Low to record in session.

Dirty Three e3b6e031d7304ccf8fa9b8e71b4fd6c8 Dirty Three ffd18a6566624e8c979a8dd1a207044f Dirty Three 64af2fa17d9e412785432ba0133558bc Dirty Three 6993a5c1450d416c82688b73285f015e Dirty Three 79b70bd035b643a2b95a42b0b577a568 Dirty Three 49d0c327f54d41f0ace85f35dc0ba62a Dirty Three da8e887b55654abaaf8efacc644d08fe Dirty Three 9163e84de9244b60abfbacc77966dd06 Dirty Three 8cf9e37857244f73af8b657c013745ac Dirty Three 220efa32f38e48209e7144497590b3db Dirty Three 3adbc5567dbc49bbb06a5c755b10fde7 Dirty Three 88936d413d5a4b65b947346412d907aa Dirty Three a346dfb65d13439caf7af3ee41fd41e8 Dirty Three 372b6f6aef3a4fa1aa591331defe9012 Dirty Three 9321f4debeb94c1ebc3fc69723e8f297 Dirty Three 19107d45cc58465183d147175293262a Dirty Three 0cf816d306f74989a741433bf8284b77 Dirty Three 5eb52f6c94a54c409583c7081bdae0f4 Dirty Three 27e3f36572de4cb79836432b8ed9e5cf Dirty Three 6ead3b437aed48dbadc041291135780b Dirty Three becf14e1fa1146509d84ed00dbcd441f Dirty Three 205f59cdaa8743548452ed2e3dec75c4 Dirty Three a0246867779446e0909a567b75af1016 Dirty Three 807e969b145e4fffe360790e48e3a84b Dirty Three 1f70def870ab4c1183735089c6e4c63c Dirty Three a09e582e8958470f955716e9c5766cf7 Dirty Three dbda6564fa106f0ba1824a21207496ee Dirty Three 616bf53da03a41209ace22adc0249cf1 Dirty Three c78ab77ad87d4f0ba2e11155fbd0a485 Dirty Three 885960790bfd4c4ea3809c4d00fc2d01