You need flash!
no cover -  


symphonic metal Gothic Metal Female fronted metal metal dutch

    Delain is a band, formed in Zwolle, Netherlands in 2002. Delain was founded by Martijn Westerholt, former pianist of Within Temptation and brother of Within Temptation co-founder Robert Westerholt. Martijn left Within Temptation in 2001 after contracting Pfeiffer's disease. He started Delain in 2002. The band released a demo entitled "Amenity" in 2002 and started recording their debut album "Lucidity" in July 2005, after they had signed a contract with Roadrunner Records.

    For their first album "Lucidity" they invited several guest musicians:
    Jan Yrlund - guitars (Imperia)
    Ariën van Weesenbeek - drums (ex-Pandaemonium, ex-Imperia, ex-God Dethroned, Epica)
    Ad Sluijter - guitars (ex-Epica)
    George Oosthoek - grunts (ex-Orphanage, After Forever touring member)
    Guus Eikens - keyboards (ex-Orphanage)
    Sharon Den Adel - vocals (Within Temptation)
    Marco Hietala - bass, vocals (Tarot, Nightwish)
    Liv Kristine - vocals (ex-Theatre of Tragedy, Leaves' Eyes)

    At the end of 2007 Delain stated that they intended to release a second album in 2008, but in November 2008, it was announced that the new album "April Rain" would be released on February 9th, 2009. In 2009, "April Rain" was delayed further until March 2009; the title track single, however, was released in February.

    In February 2010, Delain announced they had started working on their third album, and that bassist Rob van der Loo would leave the band the same year due to time constraints. In March, Otto Schimmelpenninck van der Oije was announced as Rob's successor. On October 4, 2010, Delain announced they were to part company with guitarist Ewout Pieters. Timo Somers was announced as his replacement on April 17, 2011.

    Originally intended for release in early 2012, the third album's release date was unknown due to Warner Music's purchase of Roadrunner Records. However, it was announced via a Facebook message on the band official page that the album would be released on June 1, 2012 with the album's first single, 'Get the Devil Out of Me'. It was released on 13 April 2012 via CNR Music, who took over Delain from Warner Music. The second single from the album was the title track, 'We Are the Others'. It was announced on 3 November that Delain would headline Dames of Darkness Festival (Wolverhampton, UK) which they had previously headlined in 2009 (under the Femme Metal Festival)."

    On 26 February 2013, Delain announced that they will release a special album entitled Interlude that would include new songs, covers, live tracks, special versions of previous songs and a bonus DVD. It was released on various dates throughout the first week of May worldwide.

    On 23 January 2014, Delain announced that they will release a new album entitled "The Human Contradiction". It was released on April 5, 2014 in Europe, and on April 8, 2014 in North America.

    On June 4, 2014, it was announced that drummer Sander Zoer would step down from the band due to personal reasons; he would continue working behind the scenes of Delain. The replacement drummer was announced to be Ruben Israel, who had stepped in for Zoer during Delain's tour with Kamelot. Zoer will continue to perform until September.

    The band brought with them Merel Bechtold (MaYaN, Purest of Pain) as a second guitarist for their UK tour in November 2014. Bassist Otto Schimmelpenninck van der Oije suffered an injury on November 26, 2014, when he was accidentally hit by a streamer cannon, causing his left testicle to rupture. This incident was said to be caused by uncertain stage positioning, as there were six people onstage instead of the usual five. While he was recovering, the band used pre-recorded bass parts. No permanent damage was done, and as of January 12, 2015, Schimmelpenninck van der Oije has resumed touring.

    Delain is currently touring with Sabaton and Battle Beast, and will tour North America with Sabaton as support for Nightwish. Merel Bechtold will fill in for guitarist Timo Somers until February due to Somers' full schedule.

    In early October of 2017, Ruben announced leaving the band. His last show played at 1st of November 2017. The temporary(?) drummer of the band Joey de Boer.


    -Current members:
    * Martijn Westerholt – Keyboards
    * Charlotte Wessels – Lead vocals
    * Otto Schimmelpenninck van der Oije – Bass guitar, backing vocals, harsh vocals
    * Timo Somers – Lead guitar, backing vocals


    * Lucidity - 2006
    * April Rain - 2009
    * We Are The Others - 2012
    * The Human Contradiction - 2014

    * Frozen - 2007
    * See Me In Shadow - 2007
    * The Gathering - 2008
    * April Rain - 2009
    * Stay Forever - 2009
    * Smalltown Boy - 2009
    * Get the Devil Out of Me - 2012
    * Stardust - 2014

    * Amenity - 2002


    Delain was nominated for the category New Sounds of Europe at EMA 2007. They were knocked out on eleventh day. They were also nominated for the TMF Awards 2007 in the category "Best Rock".

    Official Website:
    Official Facebook:
    Official Twitter:

    Delain 94909ffb699f1448c825a19e941ead17 Delain ef3a55e1ee44768787bbdd1cb6bc552d Delain 000587eb7f254fe89f265d38770808fd Delain bc5428f578d74097a8a37e80bed0ad43 Delain 06338388e45345fac5a909a0068f71cb Delain a4d3eedc613543c792bdce1c75d64a9f Delain ab3d8ccb7a1a4e79aa564b0f89776cff Delain a3acc8af5edc4277c25509b412bbc47a Delain 1295d17c99764151999a5176e19b875e Delain f86a042dbc6c4dabbcfc194626899f64 Delain 5aca720d5a498a83e1ae46933a04248d Delain c554e9216c0c414b8bd242eb7419506e Delain 05535fb3369e421cab8c1fff5015069c Delain 681aa00fe6da4778a6b501cfbaac3586 Delain 24229f34931f4ec99fbb5dd5cc4d20cd Delain 174042fc8370482e8f703f35dca2ac47 Delain a883dbb0871c86552300199ac89af490 Delain c7277ca3578343049b18792395fd04b9 Delain adbb12ddff214382b0af9f480ec3ab8e Delain 9969eae727e34f0fb345e287d7c00980 Delain a4d9db0f59354ef9b21c68ecd4fabe45 Delain d26fb462818b4aff827d9de005ac7889 Delain d0863e877b8641fb8713c0802aaf7b12 Delain 9b043085099b48f49e02fe79a68372eb Delain 9da9bade92754665989465eef17994ad Delain 591719ebb8494d358c5eea5567ab14d1 Delain 43632a0741d943e4868ab0686e3e4790 Delain f7ceeaf987a7444690d8cd764a214299 Delain b2cd822c1a4248a2947ab3c007a218f8 Delain c05ad55863d34123aa72f40a926d73d8 Delain ad40f670239e470ab263170c23b7aa19 Delain ca3e86ebf36e49bf9c4368af1cce91f2 Delain eb3701ce52044c908d1d806e1835f500 Delain 40d95eacccd54467a8956aa3b384ddde Delain 04c5071247e8512ce33d703140a27cd4 Delain cbed15d933ed4bef9f2320bc604618a3 Delain 743a6953d6b54614a86e21d9ac14ee5a Delain bdde865d192046aa9e548d3915f150c9 Delain 147230a8946945f7b29e7ffb6d79f7e6 Delain 11838600de7842beb249f779283efa68