You need flash!
no cover -  


black metal Post-Black Metal atmospheric black metal shoegaze seen live

    Deafheaven is an American band that formed in San Francisco, California on February, 2010. The group began as a two-piece project with George Clarke and Kerry McCoy, who recorded and self-released a demo together. After a warm reception, Deafheaven recruited three new members and began to tour. Before the close of 2010, the band had signed to the Deathwish, Inc. label and later released their debut album Roads to Judah in April, 2011. Their follow-up sophomore Sunbather was released on June 11, 2013 to critical acclaim. After yet another lineup change, the band toured for the album extensively. They also released a single titled From the Kettle onto the Coil on August 25, 2014. The band's third record New Bermuda was released on October 2nd, 2015.

    Deafheaven formed in February 2010 in San Francisco with vocalist George Clarke and guitarist Kerry McCoy, who previously performed in a band together. Clarke isn’t sure how he arrived on the name Deafheaven, though he is aware of its appearance in William Shakespeare’s Sonnet 29. The two words ‘deaf’ and ‘heaven’ were combined as an homage to Slowdive.

    Clarke and McCoy recorded their demo in April, 2010 at Atomic Garden Studios which was released both on cassette tape format in limited quantities and digitally. It featured four songs that combined and . Originally, Deafheaven did not intend to release the material but they later sent it out to a few of their favorite blogs.

    After the demo had been positively received, Clarke and McCoy recruited three additional musicians, bassist Derek Prine, guitarists Nick Bassett of the bands Whirr and Nothing, and drummer Trevor Deschryver who responded to an ad on Craigslist to form a five-piece group and started playing their first shows on July, 2010.

    Their debut full-length Roads to Judah was released by Deathwish Inc. on April 26, 2011. As early as September, 2011 Deafheaven announced they had begun writing new music for a potential split album, EP or full-length. At the time, McCoy described it as being "faster, darker, heavier and far more experimental" than their previous material. However in December, 2012 Clarke described their new material as "less melancholic and less centered around only black metal," but rather featuring a more "lush and rock-driven, even pop-driven sound at times."

    Their third album titled Sunbather was written solely by founding members Clarke and McCoy. This was similar to the way the band's first demo was composed, and different from Roads to Judah, which was written as a five-piece band. The duo was also joined in the studio by new drummer Daniel Tracy, who "added his own drum style to already-constructed song skeletons." The title of the album reflects Clarke's idea of perfection. He stated that it's meant to represent "a wealthy, beautiful, perfect existence that is naturally unattainable and the struggles of having to deal with that reality because of your own faults, relationship troubles, family troubles, death, et cetera." Deafheaven entered the studio to record in January 2013 with Jack Shirley, and released the album on June 11, 2013 through Deathwish Inc.

    Sunbather was critically acclaimed upon release. Metacritic rated the album 92/100, based on 18 reviews, and later declared it the best-reviewed major album of 2013. It was also Deafheaven's first release to chart on Billboard — it ranked at number 130 on the Billboard 200 and number 2 on the Top Heatseekers chart.

    In addition to new drummer Daniel Tracy, who was a part of the band for the recording of Sunbather, the band recruited bassist Stephen Clark and guitarist Shiv Mehra for the 2013-2014 tours. Founding members Clarke and McCoy said previous band members parted ways due to difficulties with life on the road and earning little-to-no money.

    In 2014, the band released the track "From the Kettle onto the Coil" as a free download for the cable television network Adult Swim's weekly singles series. Their third album, New Bermuda, was released on October 2, 2015, through the ANTI- record label, to critical acclaim.

    The band started working on the follow up to New Bermuda in January 2018, when they announced they were in the studio working on a new album, scheduled for release later in the year. On April 17, 2018, the band released "Honeycomb", the lead single to their fourth studio album Ordinary Corrupt Human Love. On June 12, 2018, a new track from the new album titled "Canary Yellow" was released.The album was released on July 13, 2018 through Anti- Records. It received widespread acclaim from critics.

    Their music is described as “a dizzying hybrid of shimmer, passion, vulnerability, and intensity.” They have cited a wide range of musical influences, including, but not limited to: Morbid Angel, The Smiths, Burzum, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Orchid, Emperor and My Bloody Valentine.

    George Clarke - Vocals
    Kerry McCoy - Guitar
    Shiv Mehra - Guitar
    Daniel Tracy - Drums
    Chrish Johnson - Bass (Live)

    2010 - Demo (Remastered in 2012)
    2011 - DW Live Series 08: Live at The Blacktop 01.15.11
    2011 - Libertine Dissolves (single)
    2011 - Roads to Judah
    2012 - Deafheaven / Bosse-de-Nage (with Bosse-de-Nage)
    2013 - Sunbather
    2014 - From the Kettle onto the Coil
    2015 - New Bermuda
    2018 - Ordinary Corrupt Human Love

    Deafheaven 5183d9f591414048c0aa1b4fe1845c3c Deafheaven 59a7a02704b32259e665a20e1aa81973 Deafheaven cbda0264969c4428a859d9035ed358d0 Deafheaven 124c742640fe7234d2b7c98489e28f24 Deafheaven a15ad9d944454e28cefb0c6d1d25d04a Deafheaven 2cbee68d0985b4ade5fc9972cf92f9a3 Deafheaven 0c0085a0bea78eb4d6f648d395060d36 Deafheaven 9d90d12ecc47755d619420b43b9bb9aa Deafheaven fa9fcc32295aa4ae515041ebc796a717 Deafheaven 3fc82d1de32a4691c63c8c97f2090bab Deafheaven d2795c64e5144d5dcd74ad692a7457be Deafheaven 1ae19a3dbd4f467ac6923ed31c03d0d1 Deafheaven 30969ff80c854f14cf27005ef68a1a63 Deafheaven cee0fa9550de4701c7dc10cc584f5cfe Deafheaven 3910f5090b4847c7c79eb0dc78b47b8b Deafheaven 8e1ecd99b9cd47d9c77bb1af80270204 Deafheaven ce813bf8d6dd4eea851d08531b9fb4f3 Deafheaven 214e3393f44549dabda486135eea4c5c Deafheaven f3ed877127814c1a8bc9a8873f7f500f Deafheaven 5bdf42720c83475cc7fd28d498954a78 Deafheaven 5b71f1d7b2d44e48a496f5308ffd49e4 Deafheaven 31ff9c46901b477ec7a863e8128651e4 Deafheaven 91e18300c4ff4083c0380ee64e3a4d5b Deafheaven 775402dc0acd44729e8b43b747bfabbb Deafheaven 43bf0605178e4c97cc9300021a3177ed Deafheaven a34729acf85e4007c00c74e079913fba Deafheaven 48f5d91ea44b42b3c2f7fb2eb7b34a95 Deafheaven a22af3fd1b5c4645c62660b4502e72c7 Deafheaven e71a9b2a9a4c4848a873ed55beae3ca7 Deafheaven c2a103ab96df4b70cbe3471d8fa0d048 Deafheaven cdd9e65b53e740c3c0e46551d219beb2 Deafheaven f14d8e92a9c14b93cb376ebbd02628a3 Deafheaven 5d9f70b6236c4ec28ddc400bab61f2ed Deafheaven 8becb7c0e2c1426b9beaf2327a304f5d Deafheaven 8d2cf1773d92462a9efad2b4a4de41e1 Deafheaven 3083358afc2db920f45d5f14af8d097a Deafheaven 5402b2fb5d989425f320b506a32ab1ad Deafheaven cee80d88d2254958c959025f4c2be61d Deafheaven 3a434af33eb844969d3c1c11de9aa1e3 Deafheaven f4cf9e0f6e4649b5be599fe75a242881