You need flash!
no cover -  

Arctic Monkeys

indie rock indie british rock alternative

      Arctic Monkeys are an band formed in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England in 2002 after meeting at Stocksbridge High School. The band consists of Alex Turner (vocals, guitar), Jamie Cook (guitar), Nick O'Malley (backing vocals, bass) and Matt Helders (drums, vocals). Founding bassist Andy Nicholson left in 2006.

      The band has released five studio albums, "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not" (2006), "Favourite Worst Nightmare" (2007), "Humbug" (2009), "Suck It and See" (2011) and "AM" (2013), all of which debuted at #1 on the UK Albums Chart.

      Each of the band's first five singles I Bet You Look Good On the Dancefloor, When the Sun Goes Down, Leave Before The Lights Come On, Brianstorm and Fluorescent Adolescent hit the UK Top Five, but their sixth single, Teddy Picker, only went Top 20 and their seventh single, Crying Lightning peaked at #12.

      The band's rise to success started in late 2004/early 2005 when demo songs which had been handed out in CD form at gigs found their way onto the internet. These demos rapidly spread among message boards and friends leading to a growing fan base for the band, and were collected on the unofficial Beneath the Boardwalk, which the band recognizes on their website. The band owe much of their success to viral buzz via the Internet, and have eschewed typical 'commercial' channels, including refusing to appear on the UK's (now discontinued) Top Of The Pops music program, which was often seen as a gateway to success.

      The band's debut album, Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not, held the record for the largest first week sales of a debut album in the UK (in its first week, it sold more than the rest of the Top 20 albums combined). The album sold over 360,000 copies in its first week, but lost the title in November 2007 to Leona Lewis's album Spirit.

      On 19th June 2006 the band officially announced that founding member Andy Nicholson had left the band after missing the American leg of their tour due to 'fatigue' and the other band members couldn't stand the constant 'missing his girlfriend syndrome' so told him to sling his hook. Former Dodgems bassist, Nick O'Malley was initially brought in as a stand-in, and played the band's remaining summer commitments. He was then announced as Nicholson's permanent replacement.

      The single Leave Before The Lights Come On came out on August 14th, but only reached Number 4 on the UK charts, denying the band a third consecutive number 1 single.

      Their debut album "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not" won the 2006 Mercury Prize, was chosen as the best album of year 2006 by Q Magazine, and received a slew of other accolades.

      Their second album Favourite Worst Nightmare was released on April 23rd 2007. It was preceded by "Brianstorm", the first single from the album, which was released a week before. Like its predecessor, "Favourite Worst Nightmare" sold more than the rest of the Top 20 combined, and - due to an error on iTunes - every song on the record appeared on the UK Top 200 Singles the next week.

      When asked about Favourite Worst Nightmare Alex Turner commented, "We haven't changed that much. It's still about making contact with girls or not making contact with girls".

      The band began to write and record demos for the third album in January 2008, Turner said "We had tunes that we'd already been playing on tour so we recorded them. That’s six . We’re going to take it easy and start practicing over the summer and doing new stuff."

      The band premiered new material from the unreleased album during their January 2009 tour of New Zealand, playing small venues in Wellington and Auckland ahead of the Big Day Out festival. Their first show in more than a year was on January 13, 2009 at Wellington's Town Hall. In both cities, the new songs played were "Crying Lightning", "Go-Kart", "Dangerous Animals" and "Pretty Visitors." The full set list from the Auckland gig is available online. Also played was a cover of the Nick Cave song "Red Right Hand." During their last tour, the band had played new songs "Put Me In A Terror Pocket", "Sandtrap," and "The Fire and The Thud" live.

      Lead singer/songwriter Alex Turner started a two-man project with the singer from the Rascals, Miles Kane.
      The band is called 'The Last Shadow Puppets'

      The band released their new album Humbug in August of 2009, preceded by the single " Crying Lightning"

      They released their fourth studio album, entitled Suck It And See on June 6th 2011

      Arctic Monkeys 81d5e41b894042efb6798ea312878612 Arctic Monkeys 143f953136d3494a9b5e3edb1f374276 Arctic Monkeys c74ba7ca113c4729bfe30a7acb436e69 Arctic Monkeys 2c428b8b8d734dd38bd6924d72329a19 Arctic Monkeys a3acbb84f0e64ca3ac627aa50cff5dbb Arctic Monkeys 83e8bf1607e543679d99d03cc5abdd92 Arctic Monkeys fb376dff95ce4caab0c623a648b61e8f Arctic Monkeys 0b871e8781fd40e29b65fc0415c83285 Arctic Monkeys 5e314afc78ff4826c8508741294c7cf3 Arctic Monkeys db7112752b174225894a6d7c55c75628 Arctic Monkeys f57537f0b735f99ba3f0bf95d4e24e63 Arctic Monkeys 07e3276807ad479e8e61a5d724f54bd5 Arctic Monkeys 40af9b48f11b43d0b85b97d94f60cbd1 Arctic Monkeys d60319645c414d6b89c43a375ac9c2f6 Arctic Monkeys 5b28212d4bbc4bf3cbd5d9d0eae7dd3d Arctic Monkeys 94d7258f2edf45f78123567dfa109f4f Arctic Monkeys 2c7624b7b9d7469ca26cb46f4ed8b702 Arctic Monkeys 83ed95ffcee3434d8e375407115bf4ca Arctic Monkeys 40fc7192d64f44d68ddaaa01011a6ec4 Arctic Monkeys 2cc5bd7f302a49e0c9062e92f8ee6138 Arctic Monkeys f6dc2ebc2202475d9124683ee1a89320 Arctic Monkeys 541893233d9546a99b0408533258deda Arctic Monkeys c1aae252179d4892b2aedf474f5e4582 Arctic Monkeys 4c6088b3def3487c8e62290e6e017643 Arctic Monkeys 098ae6b5c3024467ad42b463b8093a8b Arctic Monkeys c1608a87f4924d01b1bec179fa74f1a4 Arctic Monkeys e492286d731a4ade9d184ec1c9f47128 Arctic Monkeys c825233e09af4641a5ce7b6ece883aae Arctic Monkeys 79ef9968195c46b8bdbf60df052e76aa Arctic Monkeys 81d92b056e3448a2904dbb684f47f4a7 Arctic Monkeys 9fb4ecee1cc64b1d9391c2ab87a701ae Arctic Monkeys 1bc487b47cbd4400b70842ea27028315 Arctic Monkeys 4a1b6d7f13e3440aa52ea0fb7c48303f Arctic Monkeys d170bd64864c42ffba745bbdddacace0 Arctic Monkeys 9689a23ca5b04eeabd3dded8f2335f5d Arctic Monkeys 39099574da514434ae34ec428d3b0f8a Arctic Monkeys 5790ffd96e4642b0948d686b195851e3 Arctic Monkeys 939a8a74cbbf44b58078b112cf1f0bd2 Arctic Monkeys d839c1593a6249a1bf9d3daa9bab10f0 Arctic Monkeys b0bdd09acff14633963f3ff2fe546687