You need flash!
no cover -  

38th Parallel

rapcore christian christian rock rock alternative rock

38th Parallel was a Christian rock/hip hop band formed in Ames, Iowa. Before being signed they received extensive airplay in Iowa markets alongside other CCM Artists. Unknown to them, they were entered into a talent search contest for Christian music giant Word Records. They rejected a contract offer in order to reach a more mainstream market, instead signing with Squint Entertainment.

Their name is a play on the 38th parallel north, which divides North Korea from South Korea. Their first album, Turn the Tides, was released in 2002. Their most famous song is "Horizon."

Following the disbandment of 38th Parallel, vocalist Nate Rippke formed the rock band Sons of the Republic. Guitarist Jason Munday and drummer Aaron Nordyke formed the Harry Potter-themed electronica band Ministry of Magic.

38th Parallel also reformed in 2005 and independently released their self-produced second album.

On August 2nd, 2006, band member Mark Jennings announced, via the band's MySpace blog, that it is unlikely that 38th Parallel will release another album. The decision was influenced by shifting priorities in the personal lives of the members such as marriage.

On June 16, 2007, 4 out of the 5 members of 38th Parallel played 5 songs at Bash on the Farm in Garner, IA.

38th Parallel has published photos.